Bachelor's program

International Finance and Banking in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 English or Turkish
4 yearsDuration
English or TurkishLanguage of instruction
$4,500/yr (2026/27)Tuition from

What this degree covers

International finance and banking is a four-year business bachelor's about how money moves across borders: banks, capital markets, exchange rates, corporate funding and financial risk. In Istanbul you can take Okan University's International Finance and Banking in Turkish for $4,500 a year, or an English-taught International Finance degree at Bahçeşehir ($8,500) or Bilgi ($12,000), all 2026/27 published fees.

The degree is narrower than economics and more quantitative than general business administration. Around half of the courses are shared with a business faculty (accounting, management, marketing, law); the rest cover money and banking, financial markets, corporate finance, investments, derivatives and international finance.

Turkey is an instructive place to study the subject. Its economy has lived through high inflation, currency swings and rapid growth of digital banking and payment companies, so lecturers can illustrate exchange-rate risk, interest-rate policy and bank regulation with recent local examples.

What you study

The first year builds economics, accounting and mathematics; banking and finance courses dominate from the second year. Expect regular spreadsheet work, case studies on real banks and companies, and at least one internship.

Year 1
  • Principles of economics
  • Financial accounting
  • Business mathematics
  • Introduction to business
  • Business English or academic writing
Year 2
  • Money and banking
  • Financial management
  • Financial markets and institutions
  • Statistics for finance
  • Commercial law
Year 3
  • Investments and portfolio management
  • International finance and exchange rates
  • Risk management
  • Bank management
  • Summer internship
Year 4
  • Derivatives
  • Financial technology and digital banking
  • Credit analysis
  • Electives in insurance, treasury or financial modelling
  • Graduation project

If you are considering professional certificates later, look for courses that follow the CFA or FRM syllabus areas; a degree does not replace these exams, but it makes the preparation easier.

Entry requirements for international applicants

Private universities admit international finance applicants on their school record and language level. National exams are optional supporting evidence.

  • School certificate. A completed secondary-school diploma and transcript with good mathematics results; an 11-year certificate from a CIS system is assessed by the university, and the equivalence document is handled at registration.
  • English-taught programmes. Bahçeşehir exempts undergraduates from its preparatory year with TOEFL iBT 72, PTE Academic 55 or Cambridge CAE grade C, and does not accept IELTS, TOEFL Home Edition or Duolingo results.
  • Turkish-taught programmes. B2 Turkish, proven with a TÖMER certificate or the university's own exam; Okan accepts TÖMER certificates issued within the last two years.
  • Master's applicants. A bachelor's diploma and transcript, CV, reference letter and letter of intent; Bahçeşehir's general English threshold rises to TOEFL iBT 79 or PTE 67 for master's study.

How to compare finance programmes

  1. Language versus price. Okan's Turkish programme is the cheapest option; English-taught options cost roughly twice as much or more but let you work with international employers and apply for master's degrees abroad without re-proving English.
  2. Quantitative depth. Check how many mathematics, statistics and econometrics credits the plan includes. Employers in risk and treasury test these skills.
  3. Links with banks. Ask about internships at Turkish and foreign banks in Istanbul and about guest lecturers from the sector.
  4. Software. Programmes that teach Excel modelling, Python or R and give access to a financial data terminal prepare you better for analyst roles.
  5. Scholarships. Bilgi says it offers need- and merit-based discounts to international students; these decisions are made by the university after you apply.
Where to study

Universities offering International Finance and Banking

Published fees for international finance and closely related banking programmes, with the academic year of each amount.

International Finance and Banking at Okan UniversityInternational Finance and Banking at Bahcesehir University
International Finance and Banking - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition
Nisantasi University — Finance and BankingBachelorTurkish$2,950/yr (year not stated) · fee source
Okan UniversityBachelorTurkish$4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bahcesehir University — International FinanceBachelorEnglish$8,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bilgi University — International FinanceBachelorEnglish$12,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — Banking, non-thesisMasterTurkish$3,500 total (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — Banking, thesisMasterTurkish$4,500 total (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — Finance, non-thesisMasterEnglish$5,000 total (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — Finance, thesisMasterEnglish$6,000 total (2026/27) · fee source

Bachelor's fees are per year; master's fees cover the whole programme. Nişantaşı's portal shows a discounted price (list price $4,958) without naming the academic year.

What the degree costs in total

At 2026/27 rates, four years of tuition come to about $18,000 at Okan, $34,000 at Bahçeşehir and $48,000 at Bilgi. Okan also offers 5% off for paying a year in one instalment and 12% off for paying the full four years at enrolment.

An English preparatory year, if needed, adds $3,000 at Okan; Turkish preparation there costs $2,000 (2026/27). Okan's deposit is $1,000 for programmes priced under $6,500.

Living costs in Istanbul (rent, transport, food, the residence-permit card and health insurance) usually weigh as much as tuition at the cheaper universities, so plan them together.

Careers in finance and banking

Typical entry routes for graduates:

  • retail or corporate banking specialist, credit analyst or relationship-manager trainee;
  • treasury, foreign-exchange or payments operations at a bank or large company;
  • financial analyst or controller assistant in corporate finance teams;
  • risk, compliance or anti-money-laundering analyst;
  • roles in fintech and payment companies, and later a master's in finance or a CFA route.

Foreign graduates need a work permit obtained by the employer to work in Turkey, and some regulated banking roles have additional requirements set by the employer or regulator. Graduates planning to return home often combine the degree with a professional certificate recognised in their own market.

Is this program right for you?

It clicks if you…

  • You are comfortable with numbers and like following markets and economic news.
  • You want a specialised business degree rather than a general one.
  • You can study in English or reach B2 Turkish before the degree starts.

Consider carefully if…

  • You prefer theory and policy; an economics degree may suit you better.
  • You want a creative or people-focused business career such as marketing or HR.

How to apply for international finance and banking

  1. Nine to twelve months before September: choose English or Turkish and book an accepted test; remember that IELTS is not accepted at Bahçeşehir or Okan.
  2. Application: submit passport, school documents and language certificate through each university's online portal; most private universities review applications on a rolling basis.
  3. Offer: pay the deposit or first instalment, receive the acceptance letter and apply for a student visa.
  4. In Istanbul: register with originals and notarised translations, then apply for the residence permit.

FAQ about the program

Yes. Bahçeşehir ($8,500 a year) and Bilgi ($12,000 a year) teach International Finance in English, according to their 2026/27 fees. Okan's International Finance and Banking is taught in Turkish.

Okan's Turkish-taught programme at $4,500 a year (2026/27) is the cheapest dated fee. Nişantaşı shows $2,950 a year for its Finance and Banking programme, but its portal does not state the academic year.

Not at Bahçeşehir or Okan; both list other tests such as TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic and Cambridge exams, or their own proficiency exam.

Yes. Economics studies how whole economies work; finance and banking focus on financial institutions, markets, instruments and risk, with more practical and quantitative courses.

Yes. Okan lists English-taught Finance master's degrees at $5,000 (non-thesis) and $6,000 (thesis) for the whole programme in 2026/27, and Turkish banking master's degrees from $3,500.

Recognition is decided by your home country's education authority. Degrees from accredited Turkish universities are generally assessed through the standard diploma-recognition procedure, so check it before enrolling.

Planning a finance degree in Turkey?

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Programme comparison, document preparation and application support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; each university decides admission and scholarships, and the migration authorities decide the residence permit.

Official sources

Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:

  • İstanbul Okan University: tuition 2026-2027 (study.okan.edu.tr) — bachelor's and master's fees, preparatory years, deposit and payment discounts.
  • İstanbul Okan University: language requirements (study.okan.edu.tr) — TÖMER validity and English exemption scores.
  • Bahçeşehir University: 2026-2027 tuition fees (int.bau.edu.tr) — annual fee of the School of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences.
  • Bahçeşehir University: programmes (int.bau.edu.tr) — International Finance taught in English over four years.
  • Bahçeşehir University: language proficiency (int.bau.edu.tr) — undergraduate and master's English scores and tests not accepted.
  • İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026-2027 undergraduate tuition (bilgi.edu.tr) — International Finance fee and the discount application route.
  • Nişantaşı University: application portal (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — Finance and Banking list and discounted prices.

Fees are in US dollars as published; the university's offer letter confirms the amount payable.

Updated: