What this degree covers
International Trade and Finance (ITF) is a four-year business bachelor's that joins two subjects usually taught separately: how companies buy and sell across borders, and how that trade is paid for, financed and insured. In Istanbul, Medipol teaches it in English for $4,500 a year (2026/27), Gelişim from $3,500 in Turkish and $4,000 in English (2025/26), and Kadir Has in English for $20,000 a year.
Compared with a pure international trade programme, ITF spends more time on exchange rates, letters of credit, trade finance, international banking and investment. Compared with a finance degree, it keeps customs, trade policy, export marketing and logistics in the core.
The combination suits Turkey's economy, which depends heavily on exports and on managing currency risk. Exporters, banks' trade-finance desks and logistics firms all look for graduates who can read both a customs declaration and a hedging contract.
What you study
The first year is shared with business and economics. From the second year trade and finance courses run in parallel, and the final year usually lets you lean towards one side through electives.
- Microeconomics and macroeconomics
- Financial accounting
- Business mathematics
- Introduction to business
- Academic English
- International trade theory and policy
- Money and banking
- Foreign-trade operations and documents
- Statistics
- Commercial law
- International finance and exchange rates
- Trade finance, letters of credit and export credit
- Customs procedures and Incoterms
- Financial markets
- Summer internship
- International investment and risk
- Export marketing
- Global supply chains
- Electives in fintech, treasury or trade policy
- Graduation project
Good programmes use real documents: invoices, packing lists, bills of lading, letters of credit and customs declarations. Ask to see a sample syllabus for the trade-finance course before choosing.
Entry requirements for international applicants
Private universities admit international applicants on school results and language level. TR-YÖS or SAT results are optional and can support a borderline file.
- School certificate. A completed secondary-school diploma and transcript; an 11-year certificate from a CIS country is assessed by the university, with the equivalence document completed at registration.
- English track. Accepted tests vary. Okan and Bahçeşehir, for example, use TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55 as a bachelor's exemption and do not accept IELTS; ask each university for its own list before booking a test.
- Turkish track. B2 Turkish from a TÖMER centre or the university's exam; otherwise a preparatory year.
- Documents. Passport, photograph, school documents and language certificate for the application; notarised translations and health insurance for registration.
How to compare ITF programmes
- Balance of trade and finance. Count the courses on each side; some ITF programmes are really finance degrees with one trade course, others the reverse.
- Language and fee gap. Medipol charges less for its fully English track ($4,500) than for its Turkish one ($6,500) in 2026/27, while Gelişim's English track costs $500 more than its Turkish one.
- Scholarships. Kadir Has lists scholarships for international students against its $20,000 fee; the university decides the amount after assessing your file.
- Internship partners. Look for links with exporters, banks and customs brokers.
- Master's route. Yaşar in Izmir runs an English-taught ITF master's, and Nişantaşı a Turkish non-thesis one, if you want to specialise later.
Universities offering International Trade and Finance
Published fees for International Trade and Finance programmes, with the academic year each university states.
| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500/yr (2025/26) · fee source |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4,000/yr (2025/26) · fee source |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Gedik University | Bachelor | English | $6,000/yr (2025/26) · fee source |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $6,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8,000/yr (2025/26 list) · fee source |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20,000/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University — non-thesis | Master | Turkish | $3,300 total (year not stated) · fee source |
| Yasar University | Master | English | $7,200 total (2025/26 list) · fee source |
Bachelor's fees are per year; master's fees cover the whole programme. Gelişim and Gedik have not yet published 2026/27 international lists, Yaşar's fee page refers to 2025/26 documents, and Kadir Has and Nişantaşı do not state the year.
What the degree costs in total
Four years of tuition range from about $14,000 on Gelişim's Turkish track (2025/26 prices) and $18,000 on Medipol's English track (2026/27) to $80,000 at Kadir Has before scholarships. Expect annual increases where a university sets fees year by year.
Preparatory years add cost: at Medipol the English preparatory fee equals one year of the programme and Turkish preparation costs $1,390 (2026/27); Gelişim lists $1,750 for Turkish preparation (2025/26). Yaşar charges $8,000 for its English preparatory year.
Plan living costs in Istanbul or Izmir, the residence-permit card, health insurance and document translations alongside tuition.
Careers after International Trade and Finance
Graduates work where goods and money cross borders:
- export or import specialist in manufacturing and trading companies;
- trade-finance or foreign-exchange operations at a bank;
- credit and country-risk analyst;
- customs and compliance coordinator;
- business development for companies entering Turkish, CIS or Middle Eastern markets.
Employment in Turkey requires a work permit arranged by the employer. For banking careers abroad, a master's degree or a professional certificate often matters as much as the bachelor's.
Is this program right for you?
It clicks if you…
- You follow exchange rates, trade news and how companies expand abroad.
- You like numbers but also negotiation and documents.
- You speak more than one language and want to use it at work.
Consider carefully if…
- You want a deep specialisation in either finance or logistics from the first year.
- You are uncomfortable with statistics and accounting.
How to apply for International Trade and Finance
- Nine to twelve months before September: decide on the language track and book an English test that the chosen university accepts.
- Application: submit your passport, school documents and language certificate online; many private universities decide within a few weeks.
- Offer: pay the deposit or placement fee requested, receive the acceptance letter and apply for a student visa.
- Arrival: register with originals and translations and apply for the residence permit.
FAQ about the program
Yes. Medipol, Gelişim, Gedik, Yaşar and Kadir Has list English-taught ITF bachelor's programmes; Medipol and Gelişim also run Turkish tracks.
Published fees range from $3,500 a year (Gelişim, Turkish, 2025/26) to $20,000 a year (Kadir Has, before scholarships). Medipol's English track costs $4,500 a year in 2026/27.
ITF adds a full finance component: banking, exchange rates, trade finance and investment. International trade programmes focus more on trade operations, customs and marketing.
Some universities publish scholarship schemes, such as Kadir Has for international students and Yaşar's 25–75% merit scholarships. The university decides eligibility and amount.
Yaşar University runs an English-taught ITF master's at $7,200 for the whole programme, and Nişantaşı a Turkish non-thesis one at $3,300.
Yes, at school level: the degree includes statistics, financial mathematics and accounting from the first year.
Planning a trade and finance degree?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Programme comparison, document preparation and application support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; each university decides admission and scholarships, and the migration authorities decide the residence permit.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:
- İstanbul Medipol University: 2026-2027 tuition list (PDF) (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — English and Turkish ITF fees, preparatory fees.
- Gelişim University: 2025-2026 fees (PDF) (international.gelisim.edu.tr) — ITF fees and Turkish preparatory fee.
- Gedik University: tuition fees (2025-2026) (international.gedik.edu.tr) — ITF (English) fee.
- Yaşar University: tuition and scholarships (international.yasar.edu.tr) — bachelor's, master's and preparatory fees, scholarships and placement fee.
- Yaşar University: programmes (international.yasar.edu.tr) — English-taught ITF bachelor's and master's.
- Kadir Has University: tuition and scholarships (khas.edu.tr) — annual undergraduate fee.
- Kadir Has University: departments (khas.edu.tr) — International Trade and Finance department.
- Nişantaşı University: application portal (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — ITF non-thesis master's fee.
- İstanbul Okan University: language requirements (study.okan.edu.tr) — example of English exemption scores and the IELTS exclusion.
Fees are in US dollars and apply to the academic year shown; the offer letter confirms the amount payable.
Updated: