Tourism Management in Turkey: the short answer
Tourism Management (Turizm İşletmeciliği) is a four-year business degree focused on hotels, travel companies, destinations and events. You can take it in English at İstanbul Bilgi ($12,000 a year for 2026/27) or Antalya Bilim University ($8,300 on its 2026 list, with a scholarship price of $4,150 for applications made by 1 November 2026), or in Turkish at Haliç and Nişantaşı. Okan lists 2026/27 master's programmes from $3,500 for the whole programme.
Turkey is one of the world's major tourism destinations, and its universities teach the subject close to the industry: Istanbul for city, business and event tourism, and Antalya for resort hotels on the Mediterranean coast. The location you choose shapes your internships as much as the curriculum does.
The degree is broader than hotel operations. Expect management, marketing, finance and law, applied to accommodation, food and beverage, travel agencies, tour operators and destination organisations.
What you study, year by year
- Introduction to tourism and the tourism system
- Principles of management and economics
- Business mathematics and accounting
- Foreign language for tourism
- Front office and accommodation management
- Food and beverage management
- Travel agency and tour-operator management
- Tourism marketing
- Tourism law and consumer rights
- Revenue management and cost control
- Destination and event management
- Compulsory summer internship
- Strategic management in tourism businesses
- Sustainable and digital tourism
- Human resources in hospitality
- Graduation project or second internship
Internships are usually done in summer, when hotels and agencies need staff. Ask whether the department places international students itself and whether internships abroad or in your home country are accepted.
Entry requirements for international applicants
- a completed secondary-school certificate and transcript meeting the university's minimum grade;
- for English-taught programmes at Bilgi or Antalya Bilim, English evidence accepted by the university or its preparatory programme;
- for Turkish-taught programmes, Turkish at the required level (Haliç asks for TÖMER C1) or a Turkish preparatory year;
- a passport and translated documents, then the equivalence certificate (denklik) after admission;
- for a master's, a bachelor's diploma and transcript; programmes at Okan, Haliç and Nişantaşı are Turkish-taught.
Application steps and scholarship timing
Antalya Bilim prices its 2026 scholarships by application date: $3,320 for applications from 1 January to 1 July, $3,735 from 2 July to 25 August and $4,150 from 26 August to 1 November 2026. The first two windows have closed; if the university keeps the same structure for a later intake, applying early saves money.
- A year before. Choose between Istanbul and Antalya and between English and Turkish teaching, and shortlist programmes.
- Six to nine months before. Take an English test or start Turkish and gather your school documents.
- Application. Apply online as early as the portal opens, especially where scholarship prices depend on the date.
- After acceptance. Pay the deposit, apply for a student visa (the consulate decides) and plan housing near the campus.
- On arrival. Register, obtain denklik and apply for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.
How to compare tourism programmes
- Location. Istanbul suits city, MICE and travel-business careers; Antalya suits resort-hotel careers.
- Teaching hotel and labs. Training kitchens, front-office software and a practice hotel make the degree applied.
- Internship network. Ask which hotel chains and agencies took students last summer.
- Language. English-taught degrees cost more; Turkish-taught ones need a solid level of Turkish for guest-facing work.
- Bachelor's or associate. A two-year Tourism and Hotel Management diploma is cheaper but leads to operational roles.
A common mistake is comparing only the list price. Bilgi's fee includes VAT, Antalya Bilim's scholarship price depends on the application date, and Nişantaşı shows both list and discounted fees.
Universities and published tuition
Bachelor's and master's programmes in tourism management, with the fee year and basis each university gives.


| University | Programme as listed | Degree | Language | Published tuition | Fee year and basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Halic University | Tourism Management | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/yr | Year not stated · per year |
| Nisantasi University | Tourism Administration | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,958/yr | Year not stated · list fee per year |
| Antalya Bilim University | Tourism Management (English), Faculty of Tourism | Bachelor | English | $8,300/yr | 2026 fee list · per year before scholarship |
| Bilgi University | Tourism Management | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year, VAT included |
| Halic University | Tourism Management (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $2,700 | Year not stated · programme fee |
| Halic University | Tourism Management (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $2,700 | Year not stated · programme fee |
| Nisantasi University | Tourism Management (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,300 | Year not stated · whole programme |
| Okan University | Tourism & Hospitality (without thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,500 | 2026/27 · whole study |
| Nisantasi University | Tourism Management (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,850 | Year not stated · whole programme |
| Okan University | Tourism Management (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,500 | 2026/27 · whole study |
| Okan University | Tourism & Hospitality (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,500 | 2026/27 · whole study |
Sources: Haliç University, Nişantaşı University, Antalya Bilim University, İstanbul Bilgi University, İstanbul Okan University. Okan's list quotes instalment prices with 5% off for payment in advance.
For a two-year route, see Tourism and Hotel Management. Budget separately for housing, insurance, the residence permit and internship travel.
Careers in tourism
Graduates start in hotel front office, sales, guest relations and revenue teams, travel-agency and tour-operator product and operations roles, airline and airport services, event and congress organisation, and destination-marketing bodies. With experience, the path leads to department head, hotel manager or operations manager roles.
Languages are a real advantage in Turkish tourism, where resort hotels serve guests from many countries; a third language on top of Turkish and English widens your options. International graduates need a work permit, applied for by the employer, to work in Turkey after graduation.
Who this programme suits
A strong fit if you…
- you enjoy working with people from different cultures;
- you want a business degree tied to a real, visible industry;
- you are ready for summer internships in hotels or agencies;
- you speak or want to learn several languages.
Think twice if…
- you want regular office hours all year;
- you are interested only in cooking, where Gastronomy and Culinary Arts fits better;
- you want to guide tours, which in Turkey requires a separate licence.
Plan your Tourism Management application
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and scholarships, the consulate decides the visa, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.
Frequently asked questions
Yes. İstanbul Bilgi lists an English-taught Tourism Management bachelor's at $12,000 a year for 2026/27, and Antalya Bilim University lists an English-taught programme in its Faculty of Tourism at $8,300 a year before scholarships.
Bachelor's fees on this page range from $4,700 (Haliç, year not stated) to $12,000 a year (Bilgi, 2026/27). Antalya Bilim's 2026 scholarship price depends on the application date and is $4,150 for applications made between 26 August and 1 November 2026.
Istanbul offers city hotels, airlines, congresses and travel companies; Antalya offers resort hotels and seasonal tourism. Choose the setting that matches the career you want.
Yes. Okan lists 2026/27 master's programmes in Tourism and Hospitality ($3,500 without thesis, $4,500 with thesis) and Tourism Management with thesis ($4,500), all for the whole programme; Haliç and Nişantaşı also publish Turkish-taught master's fees.
In Turkey, Tourism Management is usually a four-year bachelor's, while Tourism and Hotel Management is most often a two-year associate programme in a vocational school, aimed at operational roles.
Under an agreement with StudyU, we compare programmes by language, location and total cost, time the application for scholarship windows where they exist, and prepare the documents. The university decides admission and scholarships.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas lists tourism programmes with their language of instruction; fee sources are linked under the table.
Related fields of study
Updated: