Bachelor's program

International Trade in Turkey

⏱ 4 years (associate 2)🌐 English or Turkish
2–4 yearsDuration
English or TurkishLanguage of instruction
$2,025/yr (2026/27)Tuition from

What this degree covers

International trade degrees in Turkey teach how companies export, import and do business across borders: trade policy, customs, foreign-trade finance, international marketing and contracts. In Istanbul, Okan teaches International Trade in English for $5,000 a year and in Turkish for $4,500, while International Trade and Business programmes cost $8,000 at İstinye, $8,500 at Bahçeşehir and $12,000 at Bilgi (all English, 2026/27).

You can study the subject at three levels. Two-year associate degrees in foreign trade (dış ticaret) train export assistants and cost from $2,025 a year at Okan. Four-year bachelor's degrees add economics, management and law. Master's programmes, priced per programme, suit graduates who want to specialise or move into trade from another field.

The subject fits Turkey's economy: the country exports vehicles, machinery, textiles and food to Europe, the Middle East and the CIS, and a large share of those companies are based in and around Istanbul. Internships in export departments, trading houses and customs brokerages are therefore relatively easy to reach.

What you study

Bachelor's programmes start with economics, accounting and business basics. Trade-specific courses begin in the second year; programmes named International Trade and Business add more management and marketing, while pure International Trade programmes go deeper into customs and trade policy.

Year 1
  • Microeconomics and macroeconomics
  • Introduction to business
  • Accounting
  • Business mathematics
  • Academic English
Year 2
  • International trade theory
  • Foreign-trade operations and documents
  • Marketing
  • Statistics
  • Commercial law
Year 3
  • Customs procedures and Incoterms
  • International finance and payment methods
  • Supply-chain management
  • Negotiation and contracts
  • Internship
Year 4
  • Trade policy and the WTO system
  • International marketing strategy
  • Electives in e-export, trade finance or regional markets
  • Graduation project

Associate programmes skip most of the theory and focus on documents, customs software, export incentives and foreign-trade correspondence, with a work placement in the second year.

Entry requirements for international applicants

Private universities admit international students on school records or, for master's degrees, bachelor's transcripts. National exams are optional.

  • Associate and bachelor's. Secondary-school diploma and transcript; the equivalence document (denklik) is requested at registration where needed.
  • Master's. Bachelor's diploma and transcript, CV, reference letter and letter of intent; some universities interview candidates.
  • English. Okan and Bahçeşehir exempt bachelor's students with TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55 and do not accept IELTS; otherwise you take their exam or a preparatory year.
  • Turkish. B2 Turkish for Turkish-taught programmes, proven with a recent TÖMER certificate or the university's own test.
  • Associate degrees. Not every university admits international students to associate programmes; İstinye, for example, states that it does not.

How to choose an international trade programme

  1. Level. An associate degree is the quickest and cheapest route to an export-assistant job; a bachelor's is needed for most specialist and management roles.
  2. Trade or trade-and-business. If you want customs and trade policy, look for “International Trade”; for a broader business degree with a trade focus, “International Trade and Business”.
  3. Language and price. Okan's English track costs $500 a year more than its Turkish one; Bilgi's English programme costs $12,000.
  4. Location. Okan is in Tuzla on the Asian side; İstinye, Bahçeşehir and Bilgi have campuses on the European side. Commuting time matters for internships.
  5. Master's options on campus. Okan runs International Trade master's degrees in English and Turkish, which makes a five- to six-year plan at one university possible.
Where to study

Universities offering International Trade

Published fees for international trade programmes by level, with the academic year of each figure.

International Trade at Okan UniversityInternational Trade at Okan University
International Trade - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition
Gelisim University — International Trade and BusinessBachelorEnglish$4,000/yr (2025/26) · fee source
Okan UniversityBachelorTurkish$4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Halic University — International Trade and BusinessBachelorEnglish$4,700/yr (year not stated) · fee source
Okan UniversityBachelorEnglish$5,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Istinye University — International Trade and BusinessBachelorEnglish$8,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bahcesehir University — International Trade and BusinessBachelorEnglish$8,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bilgi University — International Trade and BusinessBachelorEnglish$12,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — non-thesisMasterTurkish$3,500 total (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — thesisMasterTurkish$4,500 total (2026/27) · fee source
Halic University — International Trade and BusinessMasterTurkish$4,700 total (year not stated) · fee source
Okan University — non-thesisMasterEnglish$5,000 total (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — thesisMasterEnglish$6,000 total (2026/27) · fee source
Gedik University — thesisMasterTurkish$5,000 (2025/26) · fee source
Gedik UniversityPhDTurkish$7,500 (2025/26) · fee source
Okan University — Foreign TradeAssociateTurkish or English$2,025/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Yeni Yuzyil University — Foreign TradeAssociateTurkish$3,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bilgi UniversityAssociateEnglish$3,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source

Bachelor's and associate fees are per year; Okan's, Haliç's and İstinye's master's fees cover the whole programme. Gedik's 2025/26 list does not say whether its graduate fees are annual or per programme, so confirm this before comparing. Haliç does not name the academic year.

What it costs

At 2026/27 rates a four-year bachelor's costs about $18,000 on Okan's Turkish track, $20,000 on its English track, $32,000 at İstinye, $34,000 at Bahçeşehir and $48,000 at Bilgi. A two-year associate degree at Okan comes to about $4,050.

Preparatory years add $3,000 (English) or $2,000 (Turkish) at Okan and $8,000 or $3,000 at İstinye (2026/27). İstinye deducts the preparatory fee from the programme total you have paid, according to its fee notes.

Okan requires a $1,000 deposit for programmes under $6,500; İstinye asks for at least half of the annual fee at final registration and the balance by 1 December 2026.

Careers in international trade

Typical first roles:

  • export or import specialist and foreign-trade assistant;
  • international sales and business development, often for CIS and Middle Eastern markets;
  • purchasing and sourcing specialist;
  • customs and trade-compliance coordinator;
  • trade-finance operations at a bank, after a bachelor's or master's.

International students who want to work in Turkey after graduating need an employer-sponsored work permit. Graduates returning home can use knowledge of Turkish suppliers and buyers as a concrete advantage with employers trading with Turkey.

Is this program right for you?

It clicks if you…

  • You are interested in how products move between countries and markets.
  • You like negotiation, languages and practical business.
  • You want a degree with a clear link to jobs in export-oriented companies.

Consider carefully if…

  • You prefer mathematical or research-heavy economics.
  • You are unwilling to learn document-heavy procedures such as customs and payment terms.

How to apply

  1. Choose the level: associate, bachelor's or master's, and the language track.
  2. Six to nine months ahead: prepare school or university documents and an accepted language certificate.
  3. Apply online: Okan lets you list up to three programmes in one application.
  4. After the offer: pay the deposit, get the acceptance letter, apply for the visa, then register and apply for the residence permit in Istanbul.

FAQ about the program

Yes. Okan teaches International Trade in English, and İstinye, Bahçeşehir, Bilgi, Haliç and Gelişim teach International Trade and Business in English.

An associate degree in foreign trade at Okan costs $2,025 a year (2026/27). For a bachelor's, Okan's Turkish track at $4,500 a year is the cheapest fee dated 2026/27.

International Trade concentrates on trade operations, customs and policy; International Trade and Business adds a broader management and marketing core.

Yes. Master's programmes admit graduates of other fields; Okan's English-taught non-thesis master's costs $5,000 for the whole programme (2026/27).

At some universities, such as Okan, Bilgi and Yeni Yüzyıl, which publish associate fees for international students. İstinye does not admit international students to associate programmes.

Not at Okan or Bahçeşehir. Check each university's accepted tests before booking.

Planning an international trade degree?

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Programme comparison, document preparation and application support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; each university decides admission, and the migration authorities decide the residence permit.

Official sources

Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:

  • İstanbul Okan University: tuition 2026-2027 (study.okan.edu.tr) — bachelor's, master's and associate fees, preparatory years and deposit.
  • İstanbul Okan University: admission requirements (study.okan.edu.tr) — up to three programme choices and document lists.
  • İstinye University: 2026-2027 quotas and tuition (international.istinye.edu.tr) — bachelor's fee, preparatory fees, payment deadline and the associate-degree restriction.
  • Bahçeşehir University: 2026-2027 tuition fees (int.bau.edu.tr) — annual fee for International Trade and Business.
  • Bahçeşehir University: language proficiency (int.bau.edu.tr) — English scores and tests not accepted.
  • İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026-2027 undergraduate tuition (bilgi.edu.tr) — bachelor's and associate fees.
  • Haliç University: tuition fees (international.halic.edu.tr) — bachelor's and master's fees.
  • Gelişim University: 2025-2026 fees (PDF) (international.gelisim.edu.tr) — International Trade and Business fee.
  • Gedik University: tuition fees (2025-2026) (international.gedik.edu.tr) — International Trade master's and PhD fees.
  • İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026-2027 tuition (PDF) (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — Foreign Trade associate fee.

Fees are in US dollars and refer to the academic year shown; the university's offer letter confirms the amount.

Updated: