Public Relations and Information in Turkey: the short answer
Public Relations and Information is the English name Kadir Has University uses for the Turkish degree Halkla İlişkiler ve Tanıtım; other universities translate the same field as Public Relations and Publicity. It is a four-year communication bachelor's focused on reputation, media relations, corporate and public-sector communication and campaign planning. Kadir Has, in Istanbul, lists $20 000 a year without naming the academic year; for 2026–27, Bahçeşehir lists its English-taught Public Relations and Publicity at $8 500 and Bilgi at $12 000.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Degree and length | Bachelor's, 4 years (plus an English preparatory year if needed) |
| Teaching language | English at the universities compared here |
| Faculty | Faculty of Communication |
| Fees | Kadir Has $20 000 a year (year not stated); 2026–27: Bahçeşehir $8 500, Bilgi $12 000 |
| Practical training | Campaign ateliers, agency projects and internships |
| Next steps | Agencies, corporate communication, public institutions, master’s in communication |
Kadir Has’s department highlights a PR Atelier for applied work, sector partners, double-major and minor options and graduate programmes; ask the department how many live client projects students complete before graduation.
What you study
Courses combine communication theory and research with professional writing and campaign practice. Students learn to write press materials, manage media relations, plan and measure campaigns, handle crises and communicate for public institutions and NGOs, increasingly through digital channels.
- Introduction to communication
- Introduction to public relations
- Writing for public relations
- Media and society
- Public opinion and persuasion
- Media relations
- Visual communication
- Research methods
- Corporate communication and reputation
- Crisis and risk communication
- Digital PR and social-media strategy
- Internship
- Campaign planning and evaluation
- Public-sector and NGO communication
- PR atelier or client project
- Graduation project
A good fit if you
- write clearly and like explaining complex topics to different audiences;
- are interested in how organisations and institutions build trust;
- want an English-taught communication degree in Istanbul.
Consider another route if you
- want a creative-only role in advertising, where advertising or design programmes fit better;
- need the lowest possible fee, since English-taught PR sits in the middle to upper range;
- dislike public speaking and teamwork.
Entry requirements for international applicants
Admission to communication faculties is based on school results and English proficiency.
- School certificate and transcript. The Ministry of National Education issues the equivalence certificate (denklik) after admission.
- Exams. SAT, TR-YÖS and other accepted exams can support scholarship requests; check each university’s list.
- English. An accepted English score or the university’s own exam; otherwise an English preparatory year.
- Scholarships. Kadir Has advertises scholarships for international undergraduates; the university decides eligibility and amount.
The university decides admission and scholarships; the Presidency of Migration Management decides the student residence permit.
How to compare PR programmes
Programme names differ, so compare content and practice.
| What to check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Applied ateliers and client projects | Real campaigns build the portfolio employers ask for |
| Sector partners and internships | Agency and corporate links open first jobs |
| Double major and minor | Pairing PR with business, political science or new media adds options |
| Graduate programmes | A communication master’s helps for management roles |
| Total cost including preparatory year | English preparatory years add a year of fees at many universities |
If budget matters most, Turkish-taught Public Relations and Publicity programmes cost less; Gelişim’s latest published list (2025–26) shows $3 500 a year.
Universities offering Public Relations and Information
Kadir Has uses the title Public Relations and Information; the other rows are the same field under the title Public Relations and Publicity.

| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | Fee on request · fee page lists $20 000 a year, academic year not stated |
| Bahcesehir University Public Relations and Publicity | Bachelor | English | $8 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Bilgi University Public Relations and Publicity | Bachelor | English | $12 000/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Gelisim University Public Relations and Publicity | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 500/yr (2025–26 list, latest published) · fee source |
Fees were checked on 29 September 2026. Kadir Has lists the same annual fee for undergraduate and graduate programmes and advertises scholarships; Bahçeşehir’s fee applies to its School of Communication.
Careers after Public Relations and Information
Graduates work in PR and communication agencies, corporate communication departments, press offices of municipalities, ministries and international organisations, NGOs, event and sponsorship companies, and digital agencies. Typical first roles are PR executive, communication specialist, social-media or content specialist and press officer.
No licence is required, so internships, a portfolio of campaigns and writing samples, and languages decide early careers. Foreign graduates need a work permit to work in Turkey, and public-sector press roles often require citizenship. A master’s in strategic or corporate communication supports management roles.
Public Relations and Information in Turkey: questions applicants ask
It is Kadir Has University’s English title for Halkla İlişkiler ve Tanıtım, a communication degree that other universities call Public Relations and Publicity.
Kadir Has lists $20 000 a year without an academic year. For 2026–27, Bahçeşehir lists $8 500 and Bilgi $12 000 for English-taught Public Relations and Publicity.
Yes at Kadir Has, Bahçeşehir and Bilgi. Turkish-taught versions exist, for example at Gelişim.
It concentrates on reputation, media relations and institutional communication; PR and Advertising programmes add more advertising creativity and media buying.
Kadir Has advertises scholarships for international students; the university decides who receives them and how much.
Programme comparison, eligibility checks, document preparation and application follow-up are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and scholarships.
Considering a PR degree taught in English?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Tuition figures come from the universities’ own fee lists for international students: Kadir Has University: tuition fee and scholarships; Bahçeşehir University (BAU): 2026–2027 tuition fees; İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026–2027 tuition and fees; İstanbul Gelişim University: international fee list (PDF). Where a list is available online, the fee cell in the table links to it. All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Fees were checked on 29 September 2026; confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.
Updated: