New Media and Communication: the short answer
New Media and Communication (Yeni Medya ve İletişim) is a four-year communication bachelor's about how content is made, distributed and measured on digital platforms: social media, video, podcasts, interactive design, digital journalism and platform economics. For 2026/27 the English-taught options in our catalogue are Uskudar ($4,400 a year), Istinye ($7,000) and Bilgi ($12,000); Turkish-taught versions start at $3,500 on Gelisim's 2025/26 list.
It differs from Radio, Television and Cinema, which centres on broadcast and film production (see our RTC guide), and from pure journalism degrees such as New Media and Journalism.
What you study: two published plans
Istinye's English-taught plan leans towards design and storytelling. After a first year of communication theory, media history, photography and computer graphics, students take User Interface Design, User Experience Design, Digital Storytelling and Principles of the Moving Image, then a New Media Studio, Digital Journalism, Digital Marketing and a course on AI, content and entrepreneurship.
Okan's Turkish-taught plan is more technical and commercial: Introduction to Programming and Algorithms in the first year, then Artificial Intelligence Applications, Web Radio and Podcast Apps, Branding on Digital Platforms, Mobile and E-Commerce, and Web and Social Media Design, closing with a Multimedia Workshop and a graduation project.
- Introduction to Communication
- Media and Communication Theories
- Basic Photography, Computer Graphics
- Sociology of Media
- User Interface and User Experience Design
- Digital Storytelling
- Digital Culture, New Media Concepts
- Sound Design for New Media
- New Media Studio
- Digital Journalism
- Digital Marketing
- Globalisation and Media
- Graduation Project, Senior Graduation Project
- Internship
- Media and Sustainability
The year cards follow Istinye's English plan.
Who New Media suits
Good fit if you…
- Already make content and want to understand audiences, platforms and data behind it.
- Like combining writing, visual design and a bit of code.
- Want careers in content, social media, UX or digital journalism rather than traditional broadcasting.
Consider something else if you…
- Want to build software or apps as an engineer; a computer or software engineering degree is the route.
- Want to make films; film and RTC programmes offer far more production time.
How to compare New Media programmes
- Design or business tilt: Istinye's plan has UX/UI and storytelling; Okan's has programming, branding and e-commerce. Pick the tilt that matches the job you want.
- Language: Uskudar, Istinye and Bilgi teach the degree in English; Gelisim runs English and Turkish tracks; the rest teach in Turkish.
- Fee year: Uskudar, Istinye, Bilgi, Okan and Medipol have 2026/27 lists; Gelisim's latest is 2025/26 and Yasar's page shows no year.
- Portfolio output: ask what students publish each year (sites, podcasts, campaigns); a strong portfolio matters more than grades in this field.
- Graduate study: Uskudar also runs a PhD in New Media and Communication, useful if you want an academic path.
Entry requirements
Admission is on the school diploma and transcript at the private universities listed here, with international exams as an alternative at some. For English-taught programmes you need an accepted English result or a pass in the university's own test; Okan, for example, takes TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55 and does not accept IELTS. For Turkish-taught programmes plan on B2 Turkish or a preparatory year.
Careers in new media
Graduates work as social media and community managers, content strategists and producers, digital journalists and editors, UX or UI assistants, performance-marketing and analytics specialists, podcast producers and creators running their own channels. Agencies, brands, publishers and platforms all hire for these roles.
Titles change fast in this field, so your portfolio and measurable results (audience growth, campaigns, published work) carry most of the weight at interviews.
Universities offering New Media and Communication
Published tuition for international students with the academic year of each list.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4,000/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,200/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Bachelor | English | $4,400/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor (New Media and Communication Systems) | Turkish | $5,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | English | $7,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8,000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | English/Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Uskudar University | PhD | Turkish | $7,800 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
Advance-payment prices are lower at several universities: Uskudar's English track is $3,960 paid in advance, Okan's Turkish programme $4,275 and Medipol's $4,950. Gelisim lists 7% off for paying the year upfront. Add a laptop able to run design and editing software to your budget.
How StudyU helps new media applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. Here we compare the study plans for design, journalism or marketing tilt, check the language rules and prepare the application file. The university alone decides on admission and scholarships; visa and residence decisions belong to the consulate and the migration authority.
New Media and Communication: FAQ
Uskudar ($4,400), Istinye ($7,000) and Bilgi ($12,000) for 2026/27, and Gelisim’s English track ($4,000 on its 2025/26 list).
No. It includes digital journalism but also design, platforms, marketing and content production.
Some plans include programming basics (Okan) or UI and UX design (Istinye), but it is not a software degree.
RTC focuses on broadcast and film; New Media focuses on digital platforms, content and audiences.
Yes. Uskudar lists a Turkish-taught PhD in New Media and Communication at $7,800 for the whole programme.
It depends on role, city and portfolio; compare current vacancies for the exact job rather than relying on averages.
Ready to apply for New Media and Communication?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for New Media and Communication on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Istinye University: 2026/27 fees (international.istinye.edu.tr) — New Media and Communication (English) $7,000 a year.
- Istinye University: New Media study plan (ois.istinye.edu.tr) — English-taught courses by semester.
- Okan University: New Media and Communication study plan (ois.okan.edu.tr) — Turkish-taught courses by semester.
- Okan University: 2026/27 tuition and language rules (study.okan.edu.tr) — $4,500 a year, $4,275 in advance; TOEFL iBT 72, PTE 55, no IELTS.
- Uskudar University: 2026/27 fees (international.uskudar.edu.tr) — English $4,400 ($3,960 advance), Turkish $4,200; PhD $7,800 for the whole programme.
- Bilgi University: 2026/27 undergraduate fees (bilgi.edu.tr) — New Media and Communications (English) $12,000.
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — New Media and Communication Systems $5,500, advance $4,950.
- Gelisim University: 2025/26 fees (international.gelisim.edu.tr) — New Media and Communication $3,500 (Turkish), $4,000 (English).
- Yasar University: tuition (international.yasar.edu.tr) — undergraduate programmes $8,000 a year, year not stated.
The dollar amounts come straight from university fee lists. Readers converting to euros can use the ECB reference rate of 29 September 2026, €1 = $1.1355.
Similar programs
Updated: