Associate and bachelor's programs

Social Services in Turkey

⏱ 2 or 4 years🌐 Turkish
2 or 4 yearsDuration
TurkishLanguage of instruction
$3,250/yr2026/27 tuition from

Social Services in Turkey: the short answer

In Turkey, "Social Services" is used for two different qualifications. The two-year associate programme Sosyal Hizmetler, run by vocational schools, trains assistant staff for care and welfare settings; for 2026/27 Medipol lists it at $3,250 a year. The four-year bachelor's Sosyal Hizmet, which some universities translate as Social Services and others as Social Work, trains professional social workers; 2026/27 fees on this page are $4,000 to $4,500 a year. Both are taught in Turkish.

The difference matters for your plans. The associate diploma is quicker and cheaper and leads to support roles under the supervision of professionals. The bachelor's includes long supervised field placements and leads to the professional title of social worker. If you want to run cases, write assessments and work independently, choose the four-year route; our Social Work guide covers that degree in depth.

What the associate programme covers

A two-year Sosyal Hizmetler curriculum is short and practical. The outline below shows its usual shape; confirm the actual course list in the university's information package.

Year 1
  • Introduction to social services and social policy
  • Basic psychology and sociology
  • Communication with clients and families
  • Child, elderly and disability services
Year 2
  • Social-assistance legislation and institutions
  • Care-home and day-centre practice
  • Record keeping and case support
  • Workplace internship in a care or welfare setting

Because placements take place in Turkish-speaking institutions, the internship is where international students most often find that their Turkish is not yet good enough. Plan your preparatory year accordingly rather than trying to start both at once.

Entry requirements for international applicants

  • a completed secondary-school certificate and transcript that meet the university's minimum grade;
  • Turkish at the level the university asks for, or a place in its Turkish preparatory programme; Turkish is the language of both lectures and placements;
  • a passport and translated documents, then the equivalence certificate (denklik) for your school diploma after admission;
  • for bachelor's entry, the same documents; some universities also look at biology, psychology or social-science grades.

Diplomas obtained through distance education are a known risk: several universities do not accept them for international quotas, so confirm this before you apply if any of your school years were online.

Application steps and timing

Vocational schools of private universities use the same international application portal as their faculties.

  1. Before applying. Decide between the two-year and four-year route, then check the Turkish requirement of each shortlisted programme.
  2. Application. Submit passport, school certificate and transcript online and receive an acceptance letter from the university.
  3. After acceptance. Pay the deposit, if the letter asks for one, and apply for a student visa; the consulate decides the visa.
  4. First weeks in Turkey. Register, take the Turkish placement test, apply for denklik and for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.

Associate or bachelor's: how to decide

Associate and bachelor's social services compared
PointTwo-year associate (Sosyal Hizmetler)Four-year bachelor's (Sosyal Hizmet)
Awarding unitVocational schoolFaculty or school of health or social sciences
Typical roleSupport worker in care homes, day centres and aid programmesSocial worker handling cases, assessments and referrals
Field practiceShort internshipExtended supervised placements, usually in the final year
2026/27 fees on this page$3,250 a year at Medipol$4,000 to $4,500 a year at Medipol; $4,200 at Üsküdar
Next stepWork, or ask about continuing to a bachelor'sWork, or a master's in social work or social policy

A frequent mistake is to pick the associate programme because it is shorter and later discover that employers abroad require a bachelor's in social work for the title you want. Check the rules of the country where you plan to work before you choose.

Where to study

Universities and published tuition

Two-year Social Services programmes and four-year Sosyal Hizmet bachelor's programmes, named as each university lists them.

Social Services at Medipol UniversitySocial Services at Nisantasi University
Social Services - universities and published tuition
UniversityProgramme as listedDegreeLanguagePublished tuitionFee year and basis
Medipol UniversitySocial Services (Vocational School of Social Sciences)AssociateTurkish$3,250/yr2026/27 · per year
Nisantasi UniversitySocial Services (Health Services Vocational School)AssociateTurkish$3,278/yrYear not stated · list fee per year
Gelisim UniversitySocial Work (Sosyal Hizmet)BachelorTurkish$3,500/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Medipol UniversitySocial Services (College of Health Sciences, Haliç campus)BachelorTurkish$4,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Uskudar UniversitySocial Work (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$4,200/yr2026/27 · per year
Medipol UniversitySocial Services (School of Health Sciences)BachelorTurkish$4,500/yr2026/27 · per year
Nisantasi UniversitySocial Services (Faculty of Economics, Administrative and Social Sciences)BachelorTurkish$4,958/yrYear not stated · list fee per year

Sources: İstanbul Medipol University, Nişantaşı University, İstanbul Gelişim University, Üsküdar University. Nişantaşı's portal shows a list fee and a lower discounted fee; the table keeps the list fee.

Tuition does not include a Turkish preparatory year, housing, transport to placements, health insurance or the residence permit.

Where graduates work

Associate graduates work as support staff in nursing homes and elderly-care centres, disability and rehabilitation centres, children's homes, municipal social-assistance offices and humanitarian organisations. Bachelor's graduates take on casework in hospitals, schools, family and child-protection services, migration and refugee programmes, and social-policy projects.

Many permanent public-sector posts in Turkey are filled through national civil-service recruitment, so international graduates more often find work with NGOs, international organisations and private care providers, or return home. Fluency in Turkish plus Arabic, Persian, Russian or another community language is a real advantage in migration-related work.

Who this programme suits

A strong fit if you…

  • you want a practical, people-focused qualification;
  • you are patient with elderly people, children or people with disabilities;
  • you are prepared to study and do placements in Turkish;
  • you want a short, lower-cost first step (associate) or a full professional degree (bachelor's).

Think twice if…

  • you expect an English-taught programme;
  • you want a clinical therapy role, which needs Psychology or a health-profession degree;
  • you need the professional social-worker title but are considering only the two-year route.

Plan your Social Services application

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission, the consulate decides the visa, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.

Frequently asked questions

Not always. The two-year associate programme Sosyal Hizmetler is a vocational qualification for support roles. The four-year bachelor's Sosyal Hizmet is the social-work degree, and some universities translate it as Social Services while others call it Social Work.

The associate programme takes two years and the bachelor's four years, plus a Turkish preparatory year if your Turkish is below the required level.

For 2026/27, Medipol lists its associate programme at $3,250 a year and its bachelor's programmes at $4,000 and $4,500 a year. Nişantaşı's portal, which does not state the year, shows $3,278 for the associate and $4,958 for the bachelor's as list fees.

The programmes compared here are Turkish-taught. Because placements involve Turkish-speaking clients and institutions, plan for a solid command of Turkish before your internship.

Typical jobs are support roles in elderly-care and disability centres, children's homes, municipal welfare offices and aid organisations, usually working under a qualified social worker.

Under an agreement with StudyU, we help you choose between the two-year and four-year routes, check your documents and Turkish plan, and prepare the applications. The university decides admission, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.

Official sources

All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas lists associate and bachelor's programmes with their language of instruction; tuition sources are also linked under the table.

Updated: