Elementary Mathematics Teaching in Turkey at a glance
Elementary Mathematics Teaching (Turkish: İlköğretim Matematik Öğretmenliği) is a four-year teacher-education degree that trains mathematics teachers for the middle-school years, grades 5 to 8 in the Turkish system. It is taught in Turkish. For 2026–27, Istanbul Medipol University lists its Primary Mathematics Teaching programme at $5 500 a year for international students ($4 950 with advance payment). TED University in Ankara also teaches mathematics education but does not state the academic year of its fee.
- Length: eight semesters, preceded by a Turkish preparatory year if your Turkish is below the entry level.
- Structure: about a third mathematics, a third pedagogy and a third mathematics-specific teaching methods and school practice, under YÖK’s national teacher-education framework.
- Practice: a final-year teaching practicum in schools.
- Outcome: a bachelor’s in education; the right to teach is granted separately in each country.
What you study
Mathematics courses go well beyond the school syllabus, because teachers need to understand why methods work, not only how. Education courses and school practice build the classroom side. The sequence below is typical for Turkish programmes; the university’s course catalogue is the final reference.
- Analysis I and basic algebra
- Introduction to education
- Educational psychology
- Turkish language and academic writing
- Analysis II and linear algebra
- Geometry and number theory
- Teaching principles and methods
- Instructional technologies
- Probability and statistics
- Teaching mathematics: numbers, algebra, geometry
- Measurement and evaluation
- Classroom management
- Teaching practice I–II in partner schools
- Mathematics curriculum and textbook analysis
- Special education and inclusion
- Research project in mathematics education
Good programmes make you teach small groups early, use manipulatives and dynamic-geometry software, and analyse real student mistakes rather than only theory.
Entry requirements for international applicants
- School certificate with strong maths grades. Holders of an 11-year certificate from Russia or other CIS countries should confirm with the university that it is accepted for teacher education.
- Exam or grade route. Private universities accept school grades, SAT or YÖS in different combinations. The 2026 TR-YÖS/1 sitting took place on 12 April 2026.
- Turkish. Because you will teach Turkish-speaking pupils in your practicum, universities expect Turkish at about C1 or completion of their preparatory year. This is not a formality: you must explain fractions and proofs clearly in Turkish.
- After admission: the Ministry of National Education issues the diploma equivalence certificate, and the migration authority the student residence permit.
How to compare maths-teaching programmes
- Practicum quality. Ask how many schools the faculty partners with and how many hours you spend teaching, not only observing.
- Mathematics staff. Check that mathematics courses are taught by mathematicians or mathematics educators, not only by general pedagogy staff.
- Accreditation. EPDAD is the teacher-education accreditor registered with YÖKAK. It is a useful signal when your home authority later assesses the degree.
- Language of teaching practice. A Turkish practicum is standard; if you intend to teach elsewhere, ask whether any courses are available in English.
- Location. Medipol is in Istanbul, TED University in Ankara; school partnerships and living costs differ between the two cities.
Careers and the right to teach
Graduates teach mathematics in private middle schools and tutoring centres, write teaching materials, work for education publishers and edtech companies, or continue to a master’s in mathematics education.
The diploma is not a teaching licence in itself. In Turkey, permanent state-school posts are civil-service positions, and Law No. 657 names Turkish citizenship among the general conditions, so international graduates usually aim for private schools or return home. In your home country, the education ministry decides whether a Turkish teaching degree gives the right to teach, sometimes after extra exams or courses. Check this before enrolling.
Who this degree suits
A good fit if you…
- enjoy mathematics and explaining it to younger learners;
- are prepared to study and teach in Turkish;
- want a people-centred career with steady demand for good maths teachers.
Think twice if you…
- want to research pure mathematics (choose a Mathematics degree);
- need an English-taught programme;
- have not checked how your home country recognises foreign teaching degrees.
Universities offering Elementary Mathematics Teaching
Medipol publishes a dated 2026–27 fee; TED University’s fee page has no academic-year label.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medipol University (Primary Mathematics Teaching) | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 500/yr · fee source (2026–27) |
| TED University (Mathematics Education) | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated) |
Fees are the universities’ own list prices, checked on 29 September 2026. “On request” means the university publishes no fee with a 2026–27 label; ask it for a written quote.
Budgeting for 2026–27
Medipol’s 2026–27 list for international students shows Primary Mathematics Teaching at $5 500 a year, or $4 950 with advance payment. Plan for a Turkish preparatory year if you need one, and for housing, health insurance and the residence permit. TED University publishes a fee for mathematics education without an academic-year label, so ask it for a dated 2026–27 quote.
Mistakes to avoid
- Counting on English: the practicum and most courses are in Turkish, so start Turkish early.
- Assuming the diploma is a licence: check teaching rights in the country where you want to work before you enrol.
- Relying on an old programme list: confirm that the university takes international students into this department for your intake.
Common questions
The degree prepares mathematics teachers for the middle-school years, grades 5 to 8.
No. Medipol’s Primary Mathematics Teaching is Turkish-taught, and teaching practice takes place in Turkish schools.
Medipol lists $5 500 a year, or $4 950 if you pay in advance.
Permanent state-school posts are civil-service jobs, and Turkish citizenship is one of the legal conditions. International graduates usually work in private schools or return home.
Your home education ministry decides, sometimes after extra exams or courses. Ask it before enrolling.
Biruni’s 2026–27 international fee table does not include an elementary mathematics teaching programme, so we removed it until the university lists it again.
Planning to study mathematics teaching in Turkey?
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission, and each country’s education authority decides the right to teach.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:
- Istanbul Medipol University: 2026–27 international tuition fee list (PDF) (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
- TED University: undergraduate tuition fees (academic year not stated) (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
- Biruni University: 2026–27 tuition guidelines (int.biruni.edu.tr) — checked: no elementary mathematics teaching programme listed for international students.
- YÖKAK: accreditation agencies with active registration (yokak.gov.tr) — which national programme accreditors are currently registered.
- Law No. 657 on Civil Servants (Turkish) (mevzuat.gov.tr) — Article 48 general conditions for civil-service posts, including Turkish citizenship.
All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.
Related fields of study
Updated: