What this degree covers
Interior architecture in Turkey is a four-year design bachelor's, usually called Interior Architecture and Environmental Design, that trains you to plan and detail interior spaces: layouts, construction details, lighting, materials, furniture and building services. Fees at private universities range from about $2,700 a year (Haliç, Turkish) to $12,000 (Bilgi, English), and English-taught places start at $3,800 at Nişantaşı and $4,500 at Medipol.
The subject sits between architecture and interior design. It is more technical than a two-year interior design diploma, because you work with structure, regulations, accessibility and technical drawings, yet it stays at the scale of rooms and buildings rather than whole cities.
Istanbul is a strong place to learn it. The city combines Ottoman and early Republican buildings that need restoration with a constant stream of new hotels, offices, retail and residential projects, so studio briefs and internships rarely lack real sites.
What you study
Most of the timetable is studio work: every semester has a design studio where you develop a project from brief to presentation, supported by courses in drawing, construction, materials and digital tools. Expect late nights before juries, and printing and model-making costs.
- Basic design studio
- Technical drawing and perspective
- History of art and architecture
- Introduction to interior architecture
- Freehand drawing
- Interior design studio I–II
- Building construction and materials
- Computer-aided design (AutoCAD, 3D modelling)
- Ergonomics
- Furniture design
- Interior design studio III–IV
- Lighting and acoustics
- Building services for interiors
- Restoration and reuse
- Office internship
- Final design studio
- Professional practice and cost estimating
- Electives such as exhibition, retail or hospitality design
- Graduation project and portfolio
Software matters from the first year. Studios expect drawings in AutoCAD and visualisations in tools such as SketchUp, 3ds Max or Revit; universities usually give student licences, but you will need a laptop able to run them.
Entry requirements for international applicants
Private universities admit international applicants on their school record, sometimes with a portfolio or interview for design programmes. There is no national aptitude test for foreign applicants on this route.
- School certificate. A completed secondary-school diploma and transcript; some universities set a minimum grade, for example Atılım asks for at least 50% success in the graduation GPA.
- Portfolio. Not always compulsory, but a set of 10–15 drawings, sketches or photographs of your work strengthens the application and helps in scholarship decisions.
- English track. A recognised score (for example TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55 at Okan) or the university's own exam; otherwise a preparatory year. Okan does not accept IELTS.
- Turkish track. Usually B2 Turkish from a TÖMER centre; Atılım asks for C1 for its Turkish-taught programmes.
- Registration. Notarised translations of school documents, the equivalence document (denklik) where required, health insurance and, after arrival, a residence permit.
How to compare interior architecture programmes
- Studio size and staff. Ask how many students share one studio instructor; smaller groups mean more personal critique.
- Workshops. Check access to model, wood and 3D-printing workshops outside class hours.
- Language of the job market. Turkish-taught programmes are cheaper and help if you want to work for Turkish firms; English-taught ones suit international offices and later master's study abroad.
- Internship support. Most programmes require office or site practice; ask which firms recent students joined.
- Real price. Nişantaşı shows a discounted price next to a higher list price, Okan and Medipol give reductions for paying in advance, and TEDU publishes scholarship levels from 25% to 100%. Compare the amount you would actually pay, not the headline figure.
Universities offering Interior Architecture
Published tuition for interior architecture at private universities in Istanbul and Ankara, with the academic year each university states.

| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | $2,700/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,250/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | English | $3,800/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4,000/yr (2025/26) · fee source |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $6,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $11,800/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Bilgi University — Interior Design | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Atılım University (Ankara) | Bachelor | Turkish | $14,500/yr (2026/27 intake) |
| Halic University — thesis or non-thesis | Master | Turkish | $2,700 total (year not stated) · fee source |
| Okan University — non-thesis | Master | Turkish | $3,500 total (2026/27) · fee source |
| Okan University — thesis | Master | Turkish | $4,500 total (2026/27) · fee source |
| Istinye University — thesis | Master | Turkish | $8,500 total (2026/27) · fee source |
Bachelor's fees are per year, master's fees per programme. Nişantaşı's portal shows the discounted price (list prices $5,463 and $6,387) without naming the year; Haliç and TEDU do not state the year either, and Gelişim's latest international list is for 2025/26. TEDU and Atılım are in Ankara; the others are in Istanbul.
What the degree costs in total
Four years of tuition range from about $10,800 at Haliç to $34,000 at Bahçeşehir and $48,000 at Bilgi, based on the fees above. Many universities raise fees each year, so treat these totals as a floor.
A preparatory year adds cost: Okan charges $3,000 for English and $2,000 for Turkish, İstinye $8,000 and $3,000, and Medipol $1,390 for Turkish (2026/27). At Medipol and TEDU the English preparatory fee equals one year of the programme.
Studio materials are a real line in the budget: printing of presentation boards, model materials, software and a capable laptop. Add rent, transport, the residence-permit card and health insurance.
Careers after interior architecture
Graduates work across design, construction and retail:
- junior interior architect in a design or architecture office;
- site or project coordinator for fit-out contractors;
- retail, hotel and restaurant design with chains and developers;
- furniture, lighting or materials brand designer or sales specialist;
- 3D visualisation artist, working freelance or for studios;
- exhibition and set design.
In Turkey the professional title is linked to chamber membership, and foreign graduates also need a work permit to be employed. If you plan to work in your home country, check how it recognises a Turkish interior architecture diploma before you enrol.
Is this program right for you?
It clicks if you…
- You draw or model easily and enjoy spatial problems.
- You accept frequent public critiques of your work.
- You like both creative concepts and technical detail such as joinery or lighting calculations.
Consider carefully if…
- You want to design whole buildings; an architecture degree is a better route.
- You cannot commit to intensive studio hours and material costs.
How to apply for interior architecture
- Nine to twelve months before the intake: choose the language track, prepare a small portfolio and book an accepted English test if needed.
- Application: submit passport, school documents, language certificate and portfolio through each university's international portal; many review files on a rolling basis.
- Offer: pay the deposit or first instalment requested, receive the acceptance letter and apply for a student visa.
- Arrival: register with originals and translations, then apply for the residence permit and buy basic studio tools before classes begin.
FAQ about the program
Yes. Nişantaşı, Medipol, Okan, Bahçeşehir, TEDU and Bilgi list English-taught interior architecture or interior design programmes, from $3,800 to $12,000 a year in their latest published fees.
Haliç lists its Turkish-taught programme at $2,700 a year and Nişantaşı shows $3,250 for its Turkish track; neither page names the academic year, so ask for written confirmation.
It depends on the university. Where it is optional, a short portfolio of drawings, sketches or photographed work still makes the application stronger.
Interior architecture is a four-year degree with construction, building services and regulations. Interior design is often a two-year associate programme focused on decoration, furniture and visual concepts.
Four years, plus a preparatory year if you need English or Turkish. Master's programmes take about one and a half years without a thesis and two years with one.
Yes, in its 2026/27 list: $4,500 for the fully English programme and $6,500 for the Turkish one, with lower amounts for payment in advance.
You can, but the employer must obtain a work permit for you, and the professional title is tied to membership of the relevant chamber.
Planning to study interior architecture in Turkey?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Programme comparison, portfolio review, document preparation and applications are provided under an agreement with StudyU; the university decides admission and scholarships, and the migration authorities decide the residence permit.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:
- İstanbul Medipol University: 2026-2027 tuition list (PDF) (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — English and Turkish interior architecture fees and the Turkish foundation fee.
- İstanbul Okan University: tuition 2026-2027 (study.okan.edu.tr) — bachelor's and master's fees and preparatory-year prices.
- İstanbul Okan University: language requirements (study.okan.edu.tr) — accepted English scores and the IELTS exclusion.
- İstinye University: 2026-2027 quotas and tuition (international.istinye.edu.tr) — bachelor's and master's fees and preparatory fees.
- Bahçeşehir University: 2026-2027 tuition fees (int.bau.edu.tr) — School of Architecture & Design annual fee.
- Bahçeşehir University: programmes (int.bau.edu.tr) — English medium of the interior architecture bachelor's.
- İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026-2027 undergraduate tuition (bilgi.edu.tr) — Interior Design fee.
- Haliç University: tuition fees (international.halic.edu.tr) — bachelor's and master's fees.
- Nişantaşı University: application portal (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — list and discounted prices for the English and Turkish tracks.
- TED University: fees and scholarships (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — annual fee, scholarship levels and preparatory-fee rule.
- Gelişim University: 2025-2026 fees (PDF) (international.gelisim.edu.tr) — English-track fee.
- Atılım University: undergraduate admissions (ic.atilim.edu.tr) — fee, GPA rule and Turkish C1 requirement.
Fees are in US dollars as published; where a university does not state the academic year, the page was checked in September 2026.
Updated: