Interior Architecture in Turkey: the short answer
Interior Architecture and Environmental Design (İç Mimarlık ve Çevre Tasarımı) is a four-year design bachelor's that trains you to plan and build interior spaces (homes, hotels, hospitals, schools, shops, exhibitions) including construction details, lighting, acoustics, climate systems and furniture. It is one of the most widely offered design degrees in Turkey: in our catalogue English-taught options run from $3,350 (Galata, 2024/25 list) to $25,000 (Ozyegin, 2026/27), and Turkish-taught ones from $2,800.
It is not the same as a two-year Interior Design associate degree, which trains technicians; and it differs from Industrial Design, which works at the scale of products.
What the studios cover: Okan's English-taught plan
Okan's English-taught plan builds from Basic Design, technical drawing and computer-aided drawing in the first year to a sequence of five Interior Architecture Environmental Design studios from the third to the seventh semester. Technical courses run alongside: building technology, interior construction, climatisation and plumbing, lighting and acoustics, architectural surveying and material costs.
Human-centred topics are a distinctive strand here (human effects on design, spatial psychology, environmental effects, universal design), and the plan includes three internships before the final-year professional practice course and graduation project.
- Basic Design 1–2
- Technical Drawing 1–2
- Introduction to Interior Architecture
- Computer Aided Drawing and Presentation
- Interior Architecture Environmental Design 1–2
- Spatial Psychology, History of Spatial Design
- Interior Construction 1
- Internships 1–2
- Interior Architecture Environmental Design 3–4
- Climatisation and Plumbing, Lighting and Acoustics
- Architectural Surveying, Materials Cost
- Internship 3
- Interior Architecture Environmental Design 5
- Universal Design
- Professional Practice
- Graduation Project
Choosing by budget and language
| Annual budget | English-taught examples | Turkish-taught examples |
|---|---|---|
| Under $5,000 | Galata $3,350 (2024/25), Gelisim $4,000 (2025/26), Medipol $4,500 | Galata, Gelisim, Okan $4,500 |
| $5,000–9,000 | Okan $5,000, Altinbas $6,000 (2025/26), Yasar $8,000, Antalya Bilim $8,300, Bahcesehir $8,500 | Atlas, Yeni Yuzyil, Medipol $6,500, Istinye $8,000 |
| Above $10,000 | TED $11,800, Kadir Has $20,000, Ozyegin $25,000 | TOBB $16,500 |
City matters as much as price: TED and TOBB are in Ankara, Yasar in Izmir, Antalya Bilim in Antalya, the rest in Istanbul. Scholarships can reorder this table: Antalya Bilim's 2026 list, for example, cuts its $8,300 fee to $3,320, $3,735 or $4,150 depending on when you apply, and TED publishes 25–100% scholarships.
Who interior architecture suits
Good fit if you…
- Notice how spaces feel and work, and like sketching and modelling rooms and furniture.
- Are comfortable with technical drawing, regulations and construction details, not only aesthetics.
- Can handle long studio projects and site visits.
Consider other paths if you…
- Only want decoration and styling; a shorter interior design course may suit better.
- Want to design whole buildings; architecture is the degree for that.
Entry requirements
Admission for international students is on school results or international exams. Ask each department whether it uses a portfolio or drawing test for international applicants; where it does not, a small portfolio can still support a scholarship request. English-taught programmes need an accepted English score (Bahcesehir: TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55, no IELTS; Okan: TOEFL iBT 72, PTE 55 or Cambridge C) or a preparatory year. Turkish-taught programmes need B2 Turkish.
Careers and professional practice
Bahcesehir describes where graduates go: interior architecture and architecture offices and construction sites, furniture design and production, lighting, acoustics and air-conditioning companies, and firms that make and sell interior and building materials; others continue to a master's or PhD. Project types range from schools and hospitals to restaurants, museums, hotels and housing.
In Turkey, practising interior architects are organised in the TMMOB Chamber of Interior Architects (İçmimarlar Odası). If you want to sign projects in Turkey after graduating, check its membership rules for foreign graduates as well as your work-permit route; if you plan to practise at home, check your country's rules on design titles.
Universities offering Interior Architecture and Environmental Design
Published tuition for international students with the academic year of each list; graduate fees are for the whole programme unless marked.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Istanbul Galata University | Bachelor | Turkish | $2,800/yr · 2024/25 list (latest published) · see official sources below |
| Istanbul Galata University | Bachelor | English | $3,350/yr · 2024/25 list (latest published) · see official sources below |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4,000/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2026/27 · see official sources below |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Gedik University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | English | $6,000/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $6,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8,000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Antalya Bilim University | Bachelor | English | $8,300/yr · 2026 list · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $11,800/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| TOBB University of Economics and Technology | Bachelor | Turkish | $16,500/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20,000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · see official sources below |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | English | $25,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Isik University | Bachelor | English/Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee page |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Alanya University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Okan University | Master (non-thesis) | Turkish | $3,500 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Okan University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $4,500 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Gedik University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $5,000 · 2025/26 list (billing basis not stated) · official fee |
| Istinye University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $8,500 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | Master (Interior Design, thesis) | Turkish | $14,000 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
Advance payment lowers several fees: Okan by 5%, Medipol's English track to $4,050, Atlas to $3,825 and Altinbas by 10–15%. Yeni Yuzyil's list shows $2,500 with its 50% scholarship. Galata's latest published list is from 2024/25, so treat its figures as indicative until the university confirms the current fee.
How StudyU helps interior architecture applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. With this many programmes, we narrow the list by budget after scholarship, city and language, check each university's entry rules and prepare the application and equivalence file. The university rules on admission and scholarships; visa decisions sit with the consulate and residence permits with the migration authority.
Interior Architecture in Turkey: FAQ
Yes. English-taught options include Okan, Medipol, Bahcesehir, Yasar, Antalya Bilim, TED, Kadir Has and Ozyegin.
Galata’s latest list (2024/25) shows $3,350; for 2026/27, Medipol’s English track costs $4,500.
No. The four-year degree covers construction, services and regulations; two-year interior design programmes train technicians.
Yes. Okan’s plan includes three internships before the final-year professional practice course.
Mostly Istanbul, plus Ankara (TED, TOBB), Izmir (Yasar) and Antalya (Antalya Bilim).
Yes. Its 2026 list gives $3,320, $3,735 or $4,150 instead of $8,300 depending on the application window.
Ready to apply for Interior Architecture?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for Interior Architecture and Environmental Design on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Okan University: English-taught study plan (ois.okan.edu.tr) — courses by semester, three internships.
- Okan University: 2026/27 tuition (study.okan.edu.tr) — English $5,000, Turkish $4,500; master’s $3,500/$4,500 for the whole study.
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — English $4,500 ($4,050 advance), Turkish $6,500.
- Atlas University: 2026/27 fee brochure (international.atlas.edu.tr) — Turkish $5,000, advance $3,825.
- Istinye University: 2026/27 fees (international.istinye.edu.tr) — bachelor (Turkish) $8,000; Interior Architecture master’s $8,500 for the whole programme.
- Bahcesehir University: 2026/27 tuition and programme page (int.bau.edu.tr) — Architecture & Design $8,500; master’s (thesis) $14,000 whole programme.
- Bahcesehir University: Interior Architecture and Environmental Design (int.bau.edu.tr) — project types and graduate careers.
- Antalya Bilim University: 2026 tuition fees (finance.antalya.edu.tr) — $8,300 and scholarship prices by application window.
- Yeni Yuzyil, Gedik, Altinbas, Gelisim and Galata fee lists (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — Yeni Yuzyil 2026/27 $5,000; other lists as dated in the table.
- TED, TOBB, Kadir Has, Ozyegin and Yasar fee pages (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — fees as shown in the table; TED scholarships 25–100%.
- TMMOB Chamber of Interior Architects (icmimarlarodasi.org.tr) — professional body for interior architects in Turkey.
These dollar amounts come straight from university fee lists. Readers converting to euros can use the ECB reference rate of 29 September 2026, €1 = $1.1355.
Updated: