Industrial Design in Turkey: the short answer
Industrial Design (Endüstriyel Tasarım) is a four-year, studio-based bachelor's in which you learn to design products, systems and user experiences, from furniture and medical devices to digital interfaces, through sketching, modelling, prototyping and CAD. English-taught options in Turkey range from $8,000 a year at Yasar to $25,000 at Ozyegin; Turkish-taught programmes start at $4,660 at Atlas for 2026/27.
What the studio years look like: Atlas's plan
Atlas's published plan is typical of Turkish design schools. The first year is Basic Design I and II, technical drawing, visual expression techniques, design thinking and the history of industrial design. From the second year the core is Industrial Design Studio, taken every semester from the third to the seventh, alongside computer-aided design, model-making, materials and production methods, and human factors and ergonomics.
Later semesters add digital product design (UX/UI with AI applications), registration of designs, patents and trademarks, marketing, strategic project management and an internship, finishing with portfolio and presentation techniques and a graduation project.
- Basic Design I–II
- Technical Drawing, Visual Expression Techniques
- Design Thinking, Design Theories and Methods
- History of Industrial Design
- Industrial Design Studio I–II
- Computer Aided Design I–II
- Materials and Production Methods I–II
- Model Making, Human Factors and Ergonomics
- Industrial Design Studio III–IV
- Digital Product Design (UX-UI) and AI
- Patent and Trademark Management in Design
- Internship
- Industrial Design Studio V
- Sector Seminars
- Portfolio and Presentation Techniques
- Graduation Project
Why fees range from $4,660 to $25,000
The spread reflects language, reputation and scholarship policy more than the curriculum. Turkish-taught programmes (Atlas, Medipol) are the cheapest. English-taught programmes at Yasar in Izmir, Bahcesehir in Istanbul and TED in Ankara sit between $8,000 and $11,800. Bilgi charges $12,000, Kadir Has $20,000 and Ozyegin $25,000, but the most expensive universities also publish the largest scholarships: Kadir Has lists 50–65% for international students and Ozyegin considers every applicant for a merit scholarship.
Compare the fee you would actually pay after scholarship, and add the cost of model materials, a laptop that runs CAD and rendering software, and printing.
Who industrial design suits
Great fit if you…
- Draw, build or modify objects for fun and want to understand how they are made.
- Like solving problems for users, not only making things look good.
- Can take criticism in studio reviews and redo work several times.
Not ideal if you…
- Want to design buildings or interiors; see Interior Architecture or architecture.
- Want mainly graphics and branding; visual communication design is closer.
Entry and portfolio
International applicants are admitted on school results or international exams. TED University, for instance, publishes minimums such as an attestat of 60%, SAT 1,000 or IB 29; Bahcesehir's general English threshold is TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55 and it does not take IELTS. Turkish-taught programmes need B2 Turkish.
Most international admission pages do not demand a portfolio, but ten to fifteen pieces (sketches, models, photos of things you built) help with scholarship decisions and prepare you for the first studio.
Careers after industrial design
Bahcesehir groups the field into product design (furniture, transport, packaging, electronics, medical devices, toys, sports equipment), system design, service design and experience design (UI, UX and interaction). Graduates work in manufacturers' design and R&D teams, design consultancies, UX teams in tech companies, exhibition and retail design, or set up their own studios.
A strong portfolio decides most hiring. Turkey has a large furniture, white-goods and automotive-supplier industry, but working there after graduation requires a work permit through the employer.
Universities offering Industrial Design
Published tuition for international students, with the academic year of each list.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,660/yr · 2026/27 · see official sources below |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8,000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $11,800/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20,000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · see official sources below |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | English | $25,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Isik University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee page |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Halic University | Master (thesis or non-thesis) | Turkish | $2,700 per programme (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
Advance or scholarship prices: Atlas lists $3,565 with its advance-payment rate and Medipol $4,500. TED's published scholarships of 25–100% bring its $11,800 fee to $8,850, $5,900, $2,950 or zero. Halic's list prices its industrial design master's at $2,700 as a programme fee.
How StudyU helps design applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. For industrial design we compare programmes by the fee after scholarship, help you shape a small portfolio, and check the English or Turkish requirement at each university. Admission and scholarships are the university's decision, the visa the consulate's and the residence permit the migration authority's.
Industrial Design in Turkey: FAQ
Yes: Yasar, Bahcesehir, TED, Bilgi, Kadir Has and Ozyegin teach it in English, from $8,000 to $25,000 a year.
Atlas’s Turkish-taught programme at $4,660 a year for 2026/27, or $3,565 with advance payment.
Usually not for international admission, but a short portfolio helps with scholarships and the first studio year.
Yes, in the first year; later most work moves to CAD, model-making and prototyping.
TED publishes 25–100%, Kadir Has 50–65%, and Ozyegin evaluates every applicant for merit scholarships.
Design products, systems, services and digital experiences for manufacturers, consultancies and tech companies.
Ready to apply for Industrial Design?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for Industrial Design on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Atlas University: Industrial Design study plan (ois.atlas.edu.tr) — courses by semester.
- Atlas University: 2026/27 fee brochure (international.atlas.edu.tr) — Industrial Design (Turkish) $4,660, advance $3,565.
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — Industrial Design $5,000, advance $4,500.
- Bahcesehir University: 2026/27 tuition (int.bau.edu.tr) — School of Architecture & Design $8,500.
- Bahcesehir University: Industrial Design (int.bau.edu.tr) — fields of product, system, service and experience design.
- Bilgi University: 2026/27 undergraduate fees (bilgi.edu.tr) — Industrial Design (English) $12,000.
- TED University: fees and scholarships (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — Industrial Design $11,800, scholarships 25–100%.
- Ozyegin University: tuition and scholarship (admissions.ozyegin.edu.tr) — 2026/27 standard fee $25,000; scholarship evaluation for all applicants.
- Kadir Has University: international fees (khas.edu.tr) — undergraduate $20,000 per year, scholarships 50–65%.
- Yasar University: tuition (international.yasar.edu.tr) — undergraduate programmes $8,000 per year.
- Halic University: tuition fees (international.halic.edu.tr) — Industrial Design master’s $2,700 programme fee.
Tuition here is quoted by each university in dollars and reproduced as published; for comparison, the ECB set €1 at $1.1355 on 29 September 2026.
Updated: