What this degree covers
Management of Performing Arts is a four-year bachelor's that prepares you to run the business side of theatre, dance, music and festivals: programming, production, fundraising, marketing, venue and tour management. In Turkey, İstanbul Bilgi University teaches it in English within its Faculty of Communication, for $12,000 a year in 2026/27.
The degree is for people who want to make performances happen rather than perform. You study arts history and dramaturgy alongside budgeting, contracts, cultural policy and audience development, and you work on real productions staged by the university and by partner institutions.
Istanbul gives the programme a strong practical base. The city has state and private theatres, opera and ballet, a dense independent scene, and international festivals of theatre, music, jazz and film, all of which need production assistants, coordinators and managers.
What you study
Most of the programme alternates between seminars and practice. Early years introduce the arts and management basics; later years put you in charge of parts of real productions, from budgets to audience campaigns.
- Introduction to arts management
- History of theatre and performance
- Management fundamentals
- Economics of culture
- Academic English
- Cultural project management
- Producing for stage
- Fundraising and sponsorship
- Cultural law and contracts
- Practice I
- Event and festival management
- Arts marketing and audience development
- Managing cultural institutions
- Strategy and cultural policy
- Practice II
- Touring and international co-production
- Digital distribution of live arts
- Internship in a theatre, festival or agency
- Graduation project: a production plan or staged event
Evenings and weekends are part of the job, and of the degree: productions rehearse and perform outside normal teaching hours, so expect to spend time at venues on top of classes.
Entry requirements for international applicants
Bilgi assesses international applicants on their complete secondary-school transcripts and issues a conditional acceptance while you finish school; the final letter follows your diploma.
- Documents. Passport, secondary-school transcripts for the last three or four years, diploma when available, and an equivalency certificate at registration.
- English. Bilgi exempts students from its preparatory programme with TOEFL iBT 75 (not the Home Edition), PTE Academic 60, Cambridge CAE grade C or FCE grade B; others sit its own exam.
- SAT. Optional; if used, it is sent with Bilgi's institution code 7293.
- Deadline. Bilgi sets the end of August as the deadline for fall-semester applications and advises applying as soon as documents are ready.
- Turkish-taught stage programmes. Conservatory programmes elsewhere are taught in Turkish and may add practical assessments; Bahçeşehir also asks for general English for its partly English-taught Performing Arts programme.
How to choose a performing arts route
- Managing or performing? Bilgi's programme is about management. If you want to act, dance or direct, look at conservatory programmes such as Bahçeşehir's Performing Arts or Nişantaşı's Performing Arts (Theatre), both Turkish-taught.
- Language. Bilgi is the English-taught option; most stage-practice programmes in Istanbul are in Turkish.
- Practice partners. Ask which theatres, festivals and cultural foundations host interns.
- Budget. Bilgi's fee is at the top of the private range; Turkish-taught stage programmes cost $3,250–8,500 a year.
- Graduate study. Nişantaşı offers a Turkish-taught Music and Performing Arts master's, from $3,300 for the non-thesis track.
Universities offering Management of Performing Arts
Bilgi's English-taught management programme and Turkish-taught stage programmes for comparison, with the academic year of each fee.

| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University — Performing Arts (Theatre) | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,250/yr (year not stated) · fee source |
| Yeni Yuzyil University — Performing Arts | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Bahcesehir University — Performing Arts, Conservatory | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University — Music and Performing Arts, non-thesis | Master | Turkish | $3,300 total (year not stated) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University — Music and Performing Arts, thesis | Master | Turkish | $5,300 total (year not stated) · fee source |
Only Bilgi's programme is a management degree; the others train performers and are listed for comparison. Nişantaşı shows discounted portal prices without naming the academic year; Yeni Yüzyıl lists $2,500 with its 50% scholarship.
What it costs
Four years at Bilgi come to $48,000 in tuition at the 2026/27 fee, before any discount. Bilgi says it offers need- and merit-based discounts to international students through an application form; the university decides the amount.
If you do not meet the English requirement, add a preparatory year. Budget also for theatre and concert tickets, which are part of learning the field, plus rent, transport, residence permit and insurance.
Careers in performing arts management
Graduates work in cultural organisations and the events industry:
- production assistant or production manager for theatres and companies;
- festival and programme coordinator;
- marketing, audience-development or ticketing specialist;
- fundraising and sponsorship officer for cultural foundations;
- artist, tour or venue manager in the music and live-events sector.
Early jobs often start as project-based contracts. A multilingual profile is an advantage in international co-productions and touring. Working for a Turkish employer requires a work permit.
Is this program right for you?
It clicks if you…
- You love theatre, music or dance and want to work around them.
- You are organised, persuasive and good with budgets and people.
- You want an English-taught degree in a city with a large cultural scene.
Consider carefully if…
- You want to train as a performer; a conservatory programme is the right route.
- You prefer predictable office hours.
How to apply
- From the start of your final school year: take TOEFL iBT, PTE or a Cambridge exam and apply with your transcripts to receive a conditional acceptance.
- By the end of August: meet Bilgi's deadline for the fall semester; earlier applications leave more time for the visa.
- After graduation: send your diploma and final transcripts to receive the final acceptance letter, then apply for a student visa.
- Registration: bring original documents, the equivalency certificate and an English certificate if available to the registrar in Istanbul, then apply for the residence permit.
FAQ about the program
İstanbul Bilgi University teaches Management of Performing Arts in English in its Faculty of Communication.
Bilgi lists $12,000 a year for 2026/27, about $48,000 for four years before any discount.
The management programme does not train performers. Conservatory programmes that do may include practical assessments; check with the university.
TOEFL iBT 75, PTE Academic 60, Cambridge CAE grade C or FCE grade B; the TOEFL Home Edition is not accepted.
Bilgi sets the end of August for fall-semester applications, but recommends applying as soon as your documents are ready.
Production, festival coordination, arts marketing, fundraising and venue or tour management are the usual paths.
Planning a career in arts management?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Document preparation and application support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; the university decides admission and any discount, and the consulate decides the visa.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:
- İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026-2027 undergraduate tuition (bilgi.edu.tr) — Management of Performing Arts fee and discount application route.
- İstanbul Bilgi University: admission requirements (bilgi.edu.tr) — documents, English scores, SAT code, deadline and conditional acceptance.
- Bahçeşehir University: Performing Arts (int.bau.edu.tr) — Conservatory, Turkish, four years.
- Bahçeşehir University: 2026-2027 tuition fees (int.bau.edu.tr) — Conservatory annual fee.
- Bahçeşehir University: language proficiency (int.bau.edu.tr) — English requirement for 30%-English programmes such as Performing Arts.
- Nişantaşı University: application portal (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — Performing Arts (Theatre) and Music and Performing Arts master's fees.
- İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026-2027 tuition (PDF) (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — Performing Arts fee.
Fees are in US dollars as published for the academic year shown; the offer letter confirms the amount.
Fields worth comparing
Updated: