Studying theatre in Turkey: the short answer
Theatre (acting) in Turkey is a four-year conservatory bachelor's, taught in Turkish, where a practical audition decides admission. Nişantaşı University lists Performing Arts (Theatre) in its conservatory, and for comparison Okan's conservatory charges $4 500 a year for Theater in 2026–27. Because rehearsals, voice work and stage speech are in Turkish, fluent Turkish is the real entry requirement for international students.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Degree and length | Bachelor's, 4 years |
| Teaching language | Turkish |
| Selection | Audition: monologues, improvisation, movement and often a song |
| Core of the course | Acting technique, voice and diction, movement, dramatic literature and productions |
| Published tuition, 2026–27 | $4 500 a year for Okan’s Theater; ask Nişantaşı and Haliç for dated quotes |
| Typical work | Stage, television and film acting, dubbing, drama teaching, directing assistance |
Turkish drama schools train actors for a busy home industry: state and city theatres, private companies and a large television-series industry. That is an opportunity for international students who master Turkish stage speech, and a hard limit for those who do not.
How acting training is organised
Studio classes take most of the week. Students work in small groups on scenes, improvisation and movement, and theory courses support them with dramatic literature and theatre history. From the third year, students perform in public productions directed by faculty or guest directors, and the degree ends with a graduation performance.
- Basic acting and improvisation
- Voice, breathing and Turkish diction
- Movement and body awareness
- Introduction to dramatic literature
- Scene study: realism
- Stage combat and physical theatre
- Singing for actors
- History of theatre
- Classical and contemporary repertoire
- Acting for camera
- Dramaturgy and text analysis
- Studio production
- Graduation production
- Audition technique and showreel
- Directing basics
- Theatre management and career skills
A good fit if you
- have performed in school, youth or amateur theatre and want professional training;
- speak Turkish well or are ready to reach native-like stage diction;
- can handle intense group work, rehearsals and evening performances.
Consider another route if you
- need to study in English, which these programmes do not offer;
- are mainly interested in screenwriting or production, where radio-TV-cinema degrees fit better;
- want stable hours: theatre work is project-based and often freelance.
Audition and entry requirements
Each conservatory publishes its own audition rules for the intake. The outline below shows what juries commonly ask.
- Monologues. Prepare two contrasting pieces, usually one classical and one contemporary, and know the whole play each comes from.
- Improvisation and movement. Juries test imagination, listening and physical freedom in short exercises.
- Voice. A short song or reading may be requested to check range and diction.
- Academic documents. School certificate and transcript with translations; the Ministry of National Education issues the equivalence certificate (denklik) after admission.
- Turkish. Most juries expect you to perform at least one piece in Turkish; a preparatory year before the audition is common for beginners.
The conservatory jury decides the audition, the university decides admission, and the Presidency of Migration Management decides the student residence permit.
How to choose a drama school
Talk to current students and watch a student production if you can.
| What to check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Class size in acting studios | Smaller groups mean more stage time per student |
| Teachers who work professionally | Working actors and directors connect students with the industry |
| Number of public productions | Performing for audiences is the core of training |
| Camera acting | Television and film are major employers in Turkey |
| Showcase for agents and casting directors | A graduation showcase often leads to first contracts |
Other stage programmes with published 2026–27 fees:
| Programme | University | Language | Annual fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Theater | Okan (conservatory) | Turkish | $4 500 · fee source |
| Performing Arts | Yeni Yüzyıl | Turkish | $5 000 · fee source |
| Performing Arts | Bahçeşehir | Turkish | $8 500 · fee source |
Universities offering Performing Arts - Theatre
Theatre programmes in our catalogue. Ask for a written 2026–27 fee before applying.

| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Fee on request · application portal (academic year not stated) |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | Fee on request · fee page (academic year not stated) |
Okan’s programme is listed as Theater in its conservatory; Haliç’s conservatory runs a four-year Theatre department. Fees were checked on 29 September 2026.
Careers after a theatre degree
Graduates act in state, municipal and private theatres, television series, films and commercials, work in dubbing and voice-over, teach drama in schools and youth centres, and move into directing, dramaturgy or arts management. Istanbul holds most of Turkey’s private theatres and production companies, which makes it the natural place to study.
Acting is not licensed, but state and municipal theatres recruit through their own auditions and rules that may differ for foreign nationals, and any paid work in Turkey needs a work permit. A master’s in acting or theatre studies, such as Bahçeşehir’s Advanced Acting master’s, opens teaching and research roles.
Theatre studies in Turkey: questions applicants ask
The theatre programmes listed here are Turkish-taught, and auditions usually include a piece in Turkish.
Okan lists $4 500 a year for Theater in 2026–27, Yeni Yüzyıl $5 000 and Bahçeşehir $8 500 for Performing Arts. Nişantaşı and Haliç publish fees without an academic year.
Expect prepared monologues, improvisation, movement tasks and sometimes a song, judged by a conservatory jury.
Theatre programmes focus on acting for stage and screen; performing-arts programmes are broader and may include musical theatre, dance and drama in education.
It helps a lot. Juries look for potential, but applicants with stage experience handle audition tasks with more confidence.
Programme comparison, document preparation and application follow-up are provided under an agreement with StudyU; the conservatory jury decides the audition and the university decides admission.
Planning to audition for a Turkish drama school?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Tuition figures come from the universities’ own fee lists for international students: İstanbul Okan University: 2026–2027 tuition fees; İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026–2027 undergraduate fees (PDF); Bahçeşehir University (BAU): 2026–2027 tuition fees; Nişantaşı University: international brochure (PDF); Haliç University: tuition fees. Where a list is available online, the fee cell in the table links to it. All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Fees were checked on 29 September 2026; confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.
Updated: