Theatre degrees in Turkey: the short answer
A Theatre or Performing Arts bachelor's in Turkey takes four years, is taught in Turkish and usually sits in a conservatory or faculty of fine arts. It trains actors through voice, movement, text work and stage performance. For 2026/27, Okan lists Theater at $4,500 a year, Yeni Yüzyıl lists Performing Arts at $5,000 and Bahçeşehir's conservatory $8,500; Haliç and Nişantaşı publish $4,700 and $5,463 without a year label.
Actor training is language-bound: you will speak Turkish on stage, analyse Turkish and translated plays and take diction classes in Turkish. For international students this is the main hurdle and also the main opportunity, because a bilingual actor can work in two markets.
Selection is different from most degrees. Conservatories assess performers directly, usually through an audition or special talent exam, so preparation starts months before the application.
What you study, year by year
- Acting fundamentals and improvisation
- Stage speech, breathing and diction
- Movement, body awareness and dance basics
- History of theatre
- Scene study and character work
- Voice and singing for actors
- Dramatic text analysis
- Stage make-up and costume basics
- Classical and contemporary repertoire
- Camera acting
- Directing and dramaturgy basics
- Public performances of student productions
- Graduation production
- Professional practice and audition technique
- Electives such as musical theatre, creative drama or physical theatre
- Showreel and portfolio preparation
Bahçeşehir describes its Performing Arts programme as combining acting and musical theatre with dance-movement, camera acting, creative drama and digital art. Ask every department how many public performances students give each year and who directs them.
Entry requirements for international applicants
- a completed secondary-school certificate and transcript;
- an audition or special talent exam, which may include a monologue, a poem, a song and a movement task; ask whether international applicants can audition by video;
- Turkish at the level the university sets, or its Turkish preparatory programme; Haliç asks for TÖMER C1 for Turkish-taught programmes;
- a passport, translated documents and, after admission, the equivalence certificate (denklik) for your school diploma.
Prepare two contrasting monologues, one of them in Turkish if you can, and a short song. Even when a university admits on documents, these pieces are what you will be asked for in the first weeks.
Application steps and timing
- A year before. Start Turkish and diction work, and take part in a drama group or acting workshop to test your commitment.
- Six months before. Choose audition pieces, record them and ask each conservatory for its audition rules and dates for international applicants.
- Application. Apply online and attend the audition or send the video the university requests; the university decides admission.
- After acceptance. Pay the deposit shown in the letter and apply for a student visa; the consulate decides.
- On arrival. Register, obtain denklik, and apply for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.
How to compare theatre programmes
- Teachers. Working actors and directors on the staff mean current techniques and contacts in Istanbul's theatres.
- Stage time. Count productions per year and whether students perform for paying audiences.
- Class size. Acting is taught in small groups; ask how many students start each year.
- Screen work. Camera acting and showreel production matter for television and film casting.
- Language support. Ask whether the department helps non-native speakers with Turkish diction.
Common mistakes: choosing on fee alone, underestimating the level of Turkish needed on stage, and arriving without audition pieces prepared.
Universities and published tuition
Theatre and Performing Arts programmes as each university names them, with the fee year and basis.


| University | Programme as listed | Degree | Language | Published tuition | Fee year and basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Okan University | Theater | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year with instalments ($4,275 paid in advance) |
| Halic University | Theatre (Conservatory) | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/yr | Year not stated · per year |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Performing Arts (Faculty of Fine Arts) | Bachelor | Not stated in fee list | $5,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Nisantasi University | Performing Arts (Theatre), Conservatory | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,463/yr | Year not stated · list fee per year |
| Bahcesehir University | Performing Arts (Turkish), Conservatory | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Halic University | Theater (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $2,700 | Year not stated · programme fee |
| Halic University | Theater (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $2,700 | Year not stated · programme fee |
Sources: İstanbul Okan University, Haliç University, İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University, Nişantaşı University, Bahçeşehir University, Bahçeşehir University (programme page). Bahçeşehir's fee is the 2026/27 conservatory rate; its programme catalogue lists Performing Arts as Turkish-taught. Yeni Yüzyıl's list shows a 50% scholarship column ($2,500), and Nişantaşı's portal a lower discounted fee.
Budget for dance and rehearsal clothing, theatre tickets (seeing productions is part of the training), housing, insurance and the residence permit.
Careers after a theatre degree
Graduates work as stage actors in private and municipal theatres, actors in television series and films, dubbing and voice artists, drama teachers and creative-drama leaders, and in directing, dramaturgy and production roles. Turkey's large TV-series industry creates regular casting demand, much of it through agencies and casting directors.
Careers are built on showreels, stage credits and networks, not on the diploma alone. Bilingual actors can also target productions and dubbing in their home language. Working in Turkey after graduation requires a work permit, applied for by the employer.
Who this programme suits
A strong fit if you…
- you have acted before and want professional training;
- you are ready to perform in Turkish;
- you accept criticism and long rehearsal hours;
- you are prepared for an uncertain, project-based career.
Think twice if…
- you want an English-taught acting degree;
- you prefer the business side, where Management of Performing Arts fits better;
- you need a steady salary soon after graduation.
Plan your Theatre application
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission after its own assessment, the consulate decides the visa, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.
Frequently asked questions
The theatre and performing-arts programmes compared on this page are Turkish-taught, except that Yeni Yüzyıl's fee list does not state the language. Acting training depends on stage speech in the teaching language, so plan to reach a strong level of Turkish.
For 2026/27, Okan lists $4,500 a year, Yeni Yüzyıl $5,000 and Bahçeşehir's conservatory $8,500. Haliç ($4,700) and Nişantaşı ($5,463 list fee) publish their fees without an academic-year label.
Conservatories normally assess performers through an audition or special talent exam. Ask each university whether international applicants audition in person or by video and what pieces to prepare.
Both train performers. Performing Arts programmes may add musical theatre, dance, camera acting or creative drama; Theatre programmes focus more on acting for the stage. Compare the course lists.
Yes. Haliç lists Turkish-taught master's programmes in theatre with and without a thesis, each at $2,700 for the programme, without an academic-year label.
Under an agreement with StudyU, we check audition and language requirements, prepare the documents and applications and plan your timeline. The university decides admission after its own assessment.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas lists theatre and performing-arts programmes with their language of instruction; fee sources are linked under the table.
Updated: