Psychological Counselling and Guidance: the short answer
Psychological Counselling and Guidance (Rehberlik ve Psikolojik Danışmanlık, known in Turkey as PDR) is a four-year bachelor's in a faculty of education that trains school counsellors: people who support pupils' learning, career choices and wellbeing and run guidance programmes in schools. English-taught options in our catalogue are Medipol ($4,500 a year for 2026/27) and TED University in Ankara ($7,500); Turkish-taught programmes start at $4,000 at Biruni.
How PDR differs from a psychology degree
Many applicants pick PDR thinking it is a shortcut to becoming a psychologist. It is not. A psychology bachelor's is a science degree in an arts and sciences faculty and is the route towards clinical psychology after a master's; PDR is a teacher-education degree whose practice happens in schools. PDR students take education courses (teaching methods, classroom management, the Turkish education system) and supervised counselling in schools, which psychology students do not.
If research or clinical work is your goal, read our Psychology guide first. If you want to work with children and families in an educational setting, PDR is the more direct route.
What you study: Okan's PDR plan
Okan's published plan shows the typical shape. Psychology foundations come first (developmental, social and physiological psychology, the psychology of learning), with education courses alongside. From the third year the counselling core takes over: theories and techniques of psychological counselling, personality theories, psychological tests and non-test assessment, behaviour disorders and vocational guidance.
The final two semesters are practice-heavy, with individual counselling application courses, school-based guidance practice, family counselling, post-traumatic counselling and professional ethics and law.
- Introduction to Psychology
- Developmental Psychology I
- Physiological Psychology
- Guidance and Psychological Counselling in Schools
- Social Psychology, Psychology of Learning
- Basic Statistics, Research Methods in Education
- Testing and Evaluation
- Non-test Techniques
- Theories of Psychological Counselling
- Psychological Counselling Skills, Group Counselling
- Behaviour Disorders I–II, Personality Theories
- Vocational Guidance and Psychological Tests
- Counselling with Individuals I–II (practice)
- Guidance Applications in Schools I–II
- Family Counselling, Post-Traumatic Counselling
- Occupational Ethics and Legal Issues
Who PDR suits
A good choice if you…
- Want to work with children, teenagers and families in schools or youth services.
- Are comfortable with supervised practice and with talking about your own reactions in supervision.
- Plan a counselling or school-psychology master's later.
Think again if you…
- Want to diagnose or treat mental disorders; that is clinical psychology or psychiatry.
- Need Turkish-medium practice but do not yet speak Turkish; school placements run in Turkish in Turkish-taught programmes.
Entry requirements for international students
Admission is on your school diploma and transcript or on international exams. TED University, for example, publishes country-specific minimums: an attestat with at least 60% (or 3 out of 5) for applicants from Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine and other attestat countries, SAT 1,000, IB 29 or two A-level passes at grade D. Medipol and TED teach in English, so you need an English result they accept or a preparatory year; at TED the preparatory year costs the same as one year of the degree.
Careers, and the limits of the degree
Graduates work as school counsellors in private schools and colleges, in guidance and research centres, in career services, in NGOs working with children and refugees, and in family counselling services. A master's opens school psychology, family counselling or research posts.
Two limits matter for international students. Permanent counsellor posts in Turkish state schools are civil-service jobs, and Civil Servants Law No. 657 (Article 48) makes Turkish citizenship the first general condition, so plan on private schools, NGOs or work abroad. And counselling titles are regulated differently in each country: check what your home country asks of foreign counselling degrees before you enrol.
Universities offering Psychological Counselling and Guidance
Published tuition for international students by degree level, with the fee year.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biruni University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $7,500/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Biruni University | Master (non-thesis) | Turkish | $4,000 · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Biruni University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $6,000 · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | Master (thesis) | English | $14,000 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | PhD | Turkish | $40,000 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
Biruni's list shows $3,600 for cash payment of the bachelor's fee, and Medipol's English track is $4,050 when paid in advance. TED publishes scholarships of 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% for international students, which bring its $7,500 fee down to $5,625, $3,750, $1,875 or zero. Biruni's graduate list does not say whether fees are per year or per programme; ask before you compare.
How StudyU helps PDR applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. For PDR we check how your home country recognises school-counselling degrees, compare English and Turkish options, and prepare the application file. The chosen university makes the admission and scholarship decision, the consulate issues or refuses the visa, and the migration service grants the residence permit.
Psychological Counselling and Guidance: FAQ
No. PDR is a teacher-education degree for school counsellors; psychology is a science degree that leads towards clinical work after further study.
Medipol ($4,500 a year for 2026/27) and TED University ($7,500, academic year not stated on its list).
Not directly. Clinical psychology master’s programmes usually expect a psychology bachelor’s; check each programme’s rules.
Permanent state-school posts are civil-service jobs that require Turkish citizenship under Law No. 657.
TED publishes 25–100% scholarships for international students; other universities offer advance-payment or cash discounts.
Yes. In Okan’s plan the last two semesters include individual counselling practice and guidance applications in schools.
Ready to apply for Psychological Counselling and Guidance?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for Psychological Counselling and Guidance on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Okan University: PDR study plan (ois.okan.edu.tr) — courses by semester.
- Okan University: 2026/27 tuition (study.okan.edu.tr) — Psychological Counseling & Guidance $4,500 a year.
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — English track $4,500 ($4,050 advance), Turkish $5,500.
- Biruni University: 2026/27 fees (int.biruni.edu.tr) — bachelor $4,000 ($3,600 cash); master’s $4,000 non-thesis, $6,000 thesis.
- TED University: fees and scholarships (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — Faculty of Education $7,500, scholarships 25–100%, prep year fee equals one programme year.
- TED University: admission criteria (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — attestat 60%, SAT 1000, IB 29, A levels.
- Bahcesehir University: 2026/27 tuition (int.bau.edu.tr) — master’s (thesis) $14,000 and PhD $40,000 for the whole programme.
- Civil Servants Law No. 657 (mevzuat.gov.tr) — Article 48: Turkish citizenship as a general condition for civil servants.
The fees listed are published by the universities in US dollars, so no conversion is applied; for readers budgeting in euros, the ECB reference rate on 29 September 2026 was €1 = $1.1355.
Similar programs
Updated: