Bachelor's program

English Teaching in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 English🧑‍🏫 Teaching practice
4 yearsDuration
EnglishLanguage of instruction
$5,000/yrTuition from

English Language Teaching in Turkey: the short answer

English Language Teaching (İngilizce Öğretmenliği, ELT) is a four-year teacher-education bachelor's, taught in English, that combines advanced English, linguistics and literature with teaching methods and supervised practice in schools. For 2026/27 the options in our catalogue start at $5,000 a year (Okan and Biruni) and go up to $8,500 at Bahcesehir; TED University in Ankara lists $7,500.

If you are more interested in literature or translation than in classroom teaching, compare English Language and Literature and English Translation and Interpretation.

What you study: Okan's ELT plan

The first year is mostly about your own English: reading, writing, listening and pronunciation, and oral communication, each over two semesters, plus the structure of English. From the second year you study linguistics, English literature, language acquisition and English teaching approaches, then teaching foreign languages to children and teaching language skills.

The final year puts you in schools: Teaching Practice 1 and 2, course-content development and preparing exams in ELT. General education courses (educational psychology, classroom management, testing and evaluation, special education and inclusion) run alongside throughout.

Year 1
  • Reading and Writing Skills 1–2
  • Listening and Pronunciation 1–2
  • Oral Communication Skills 1–2
  • Structure of English
Year 2
  • Linguistics 1–2
  • English Literature 1–2
  • Language Acquisition
  • English Learning and Teaching Approaches
Year 3
  • Teaching Foreign Languages to Children 1–2
  • Teaching English Language Skills 1–2
  • Literature and Language Teaching 1–2
  • Classroom Management
Year 4
  • Teaching Practice 1–2
  • Course Content Development in ELT
  • Preparing Exams in ELT
  • Translation

The English level ELT programmes ask for

ELT sets a higher bar than most English-taught degrees. Bahcesehir groups ELT with medicine and translation and asks for TOEFL iBT 96 or PTE Academic 78 (against 72 and 55 for most programmes); it does not accept IELTS, Duolingo, TOEFL Home Edition or PTE Academic Online. Okan's general exemption rule is TOEFL iBT 72, PTE 55 or Cambridge CAE/CPE grade C, and it also does not take IELTS.

If your score is below the threshold you start with a preparatory English year, which adds a year of fees: at TED, the preparatory year costs the same as a year of the degree.

Who ELT suits

Choose it if you…

  • Already speak English at an advanced level and enjoy explaining how the language works.
  • Want to teach English in schools, language centres or online, in Turkey or at home.
  • Like planning lessons and working with children or teenagers.

Look elsewhere if you…

  • Want to study literature in depth; an English literature degree fits better.
  • Want a state-school teaching post in Turkey without Turkish citizenship (see below).

Where graduates teach

ELT graduates teach in private schools and colleges, language schools, university preparatory programmes (often after a master's), corporate training and online platforms, and some move into materials writing and assessment. Teaching children is a strong market, and ELT plans cover it explicitly.

Permanent posts in Turkish state schools are civil-service jobs, and Civil Servants Law No. 657 (Article 48) lists Turkish citizenship as the first general condition. If you plan to teach at home, check your country's teacher-registration rules for foreign degrees before you apply.

Where to study

Universities offering English Language Teaching

Published fees for international students, with the year and billing basis of each.

English Teaching at Okan University
English Language Teaching - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition (academic year)
Biruni UniversityBachelorEnglish$5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee
Okan UniversityBachelorEnglish$5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee
Medipol UniversityBachelorEnglish$5,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee
TED UniversityBachelorEnglish$7,500/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee
Bahcesehir UniversityBachelorEnglish$8,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee
TED UniversityMaster (thesis)English$8,000 whole programme (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee
Bahcesehir UniversityMaster (non-thesis)English$12,000 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee
Bahcesehir UniversityPhDEnglish$40,000 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee

Paying upfront lowers several fees: Biruni lists $4,500 for cash payment, Okan $4,750 in advance and Medipol $4,950. TED's published scholarships (25–100%) can bring its $7,500 fee to $1,875 at the 75% level. TED's English Language Education master's costs $8,000 for the whole programme over three to four terms.

How StudyU helps ELT applicants

A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. For ELT we check your English result against each university's threshold, look at scholarship options at TED and others, and prepare the application documents. Whether you are admitted, and on what scholarship, is decided by the university; the visa is the consulate's decision and the residence permit the migration authority's.

English Language Teaching in Turkey: FAQ

Yes. All five bachelor’s options listed here teach in English.

It varies: Bahcesehir asks TOEFL iBT 96 or PTE 78 for ELT; Okan’s general exemption is TOEFL iBT 72 or PTE 55.

Not at Bahcesehir or Okan. Plan on TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic or Cambridge exams, or the university’s own test.

Permanent state-school posts require Turkish citizenship under Civil Servants Law No. 657; private schools and language centres are open.

Yes. In Okan’s plan the final year includes Teaching Practice 1 and 2 in schools.

Yes: TED lists $8,000 for its thesis master’s and Bahcesehir $12,000 for a non-thesis master’s, each for the whole programme.

Ready to apply for English Language Teaching?

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.

Official sources

Official pages used for English Language Teaching on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:

  • Okan University: ELT study plan (ois.okan.edu.tr) — courses by semester.
  • Okan University: 2026/27 tuition and language rules (study.okan.edu.tr) — English Teaching $5,000 ($4,750 advance); TOEFL iBT 72, PTE 55, no IELTS.
  • Bahcesehir University: language proficiency (int.bau.edu.tr) — ELT threshold TOEFL iBT 96 / PTE 78; IELTS and Duolingo not accepted.
  • Bahcesehir University: 2026/27 tuition (int.bau.edu.tr) — School of Educational Sciences $8,500; master’s $12,000–14,000 and PhD $40,000 for the whole programme.
  • Biruni University: 2026/27 fees (int.biruni.edu.tr) — English Language Teaching $5,000 ($4,500 cash).
  • Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — English Language Teaching (100% English) $5,500, advance $4,950.
  • TED University: fees and scholarships (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — Education $7,500, scholarships 25–100%, English Language Education master’s $8,000 per programme.
  • Civil Servants Law No. 657 (mevzuat.gov.tr) — Article 48 general conditions for civil servants.

The fees on this page are set by the universities in US dollars and shown unconverted. Budgeting in euros? On 29 September 2026 the ECB reference rate was €1 = $1.1355.

Updated: