Bachelor's program

English Language and Literature in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 English
4 yearsBachelor’s duration
EnglishLanguage of instruction
$5 000Lowest dated bachelor’s fee, 2026–27

English Language and Literature in Turkey at a glance

English Language and Literature in Turkey is a four-year, English-taught bachelor’s covering British, American and other English-language literature, literary theory and linguistics, with intensive academic writing. It is one of the most widely offered humanities degrees at Turkish private universities. For 2026–27, dated international fees on this page start at $5 000 a year (Yeni Yüzyıl) and reach $12 000 (Bilgi); Yeni Yüzyıl also offers a master’s at $4 000 and a PhD at $9 000 for the whole programme.

  • Language: English throughout; an English preparatory year is added if your score is below the entry level.
  • Length: four years for the bachelor’s, about two for a thesis master’s, four for a PhD.
  • Balance: roughly two-thirds literature and theory, one-third language and linguistics, varying by department.
  • Not a teaching degree: teaching English in schools usually needs a separate teaching qualification (see careers).

What you study

Most Turkish departments open with surveys of English literature and intensive writing, move to periods and genres in years two and three, and end with seminars and a research essay. The outline below is typical; each department’s course catalogue shows its own emphasis, for example more American literature, drama or linguistics.

Year 1
  • Introduction to literature and literary terms
  • Survey of English literature I
  • Advanced reading and academic writing
  • Introduction to linguistics
Year 2
  • Survey of English literature II
  • Shakespeare and Renaissance drama
  • The novel: eighteenth and nineteenth centuries
  • Phonetics or grammar of English
Year 3
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Modernism and twentieth-century literature
  • American literature
  • Translation or stylistics electives
Year 4
  • Contemporary and postcolonial literatures
  • Seminar on an author or theme
  • Second foreign language or minor
  • Graduation essay

A good sign is the amount of writing: departments that set frequent essays with detailed feedback produce graduates who can work as editors, researchers or translators.

Entry requirements for international applicants

  • School results. A secondary certificate with transcripts. Bilgi, for example, asks for at least a 50% average and lists the Russian and other CIS certificates with that minimum; other universities publish their own thresholds.
  • Exams. Bilgi accepts SAT 1000, ACT 18 or IB 28 as an alternative route; other private universities accept SAT or YÖS scores. The 2026 TR-YÖS/1 sitting took place on 12 April 2026.
  • English. For a literature degree, English is the real entry test. Bilgi lists TOEFL iBT 75 or PTE Academic 60; other universities set their own scores or run placement exams. Below the threshold you study in the preparatory programme first.
  • Graduate entry. For a master’s or PhD, expect a relevant bachelor’s, transcripts, a writing sample or statement of purpose, and sometimes an interview.
  • After admission: the diploma equivalence certificate from the Ministry of National Education (bachelor’s entrants) and a student residence permit.

How to compare English literature departments

  1. Literature or language focus. Some departments lean to linguistics and translation, others to theory and cultural studies. Read two or three course descriptions from year three.
  2. Staff profile. Look for staff with doctorates in the areas you care about and for native or near-native English speakers in writing courses.
  3. Library and databases. Ask about access to JSTOR, MLA International Bibliography and e-book collections.
  4. Exchange options. Erasmus+ exchanges with universities in English-speaking or European countries add a lot to this degree.
  5. Accreditation and quality. Humanities programmes in Turkey can be accredited by STAR or FEDEK, both registered with YÖKAK. Ask about the department’s status, and compare class sizes.
  6. Price versus prestige. Dated 2026–27 fees differ by more than double between Yeni Yüzyıl and Bilgi. Decide what the extra cost buys you: staff, exchanges, location or scholarships.

Careers after English Language and Literature

Graduates work in publishing and editing, translation and localisation, journalism and content writing, corporate communication, tourism, international trade, and academic research. Many continue to a master’s in literature, linguistics, translation or education.

Teaching English is a common goal, but the literature degree alone is usually not a teaching licence. In Turkey, school teaching normally requires either a teacher-education degree or an additional pedagogical training route defined by the education authorities, and permanent state-school posts are civil-service positions reserved by law for Turkish citizens. For private language schools worldwide, a CELTA or similar certificate from its awarding body is often asked for alongside the degree.

Who this degree suits

A good fit if you…

  • read in English for pleasure and like writing about it;
  • want a humanities degree taught fully in English;
  • are considering publishing, translation, media or graduate study.

Think twice if you…

  • want a direct route to teaching English in state schools (look at English Language Teaching);
  • find long reading lists a burden;
  • expect the degree to teach you English from beginner level.
Where to study

Universities offering English Language and Literature

Bachelor’s, master’s and PhD options; rows with a source link show a dated 2026–27 fee.

English Language and Literature at Yeni Yuzyil UniversityEnglish Language and Literature at Atlas University
English Language and Literature - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition
Yeni Yuzyil UniversityBachelorEnglish$5 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Atlas UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request
Topkapi UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university admissions portal (academic year not stated)
Nisantasi UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Istinye UniversityBachelorEnglish$8 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Yasar UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Gelisim UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request
TED UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Bilgi UniversityBachelorEnglish$12 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Yeni Yuzyil University (thesis, 2 years)MasterNot stated$4 000 whole programme
Yasar UniversityMasterEnglish2026–27 fee on request
Yeni Yuzyil University (4 years)PhDNot stated$9 000 whole programme

Fees are the universities’ own list prices, checked on 29 September 2026. “On request” means the university publishes no fee with a 2026–27 label; ask it for a written quote.

Budgeting for 2026–27

Dated 2026–27 bachelor’s fees on this page: Yeni Yüzyıl $5 000 a year, İstinye $8 000 and Bilgi $12 000. Yeni Yüzyıl’s list also shows a 50% scholarship column of $2 500 for its $5 000 band; ask the university which rate applies to you. Atlas, Topkapı, Nişantaşı, Yaşar, Gelişim and TED University do not publish a fee labelled for 2026–27, so request quotes.

For graduate study at Yeni Yüzyıl, the 2026–27 fee covers the whole programme: $4 000 for the two-year thesis master’s and $9 000 for the four-year PhD. Add housing, health insurance and the residence permit, and budget for books if your department relies on printed editions.

Common questions

Yes. All programmes on this page teach in English, with a preparatory year for students below the required score.

Yeni Yüzyıl lists $5 000 a year for the bachelor’s, and its fee table shows a 50% scholarship column of $2 500.

Not directly in Turkish state schools: school teaching needs a teacher-education degree or an extra pedagogical training route, and permanent posts are reserved for citizens. Private language schools often ask for a CELTA or similar certificate as well.

English Language Teaching is a teacher-education degree with pedagogy and school practice. English Language and Literature is a humanities degree centred on literature, theory and linguistics.

For 2026–27, $4 000 for the whole two-year thesis master’s and $9 000 for the whole four-year PhD.

Each university sets its own minimum. Bilgi, for example, asks for TOEFL iBT 75 or PTE Academic 60; otherwise you join the preparatory programme.

Planning to study English literature in Turkey?

A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and any scholarship; the migration authority decides the residence permit.

Official sources

Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:

  • Istanbul Bilgi University: international admission procedure (bilgi.edu.tr) — minimum SAT 1000, ACT 18, IB 28 and 50% school GPA, including for the Russian attestat.
  • Istanbul Bilgi University: admission requirements (bilgi.edu.tr) — documents and accepted English certificates (TOEFL iBT 75, PTE Academic 60).
  • Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026–27 undergraduate fees for international students (PDF) (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026–27 master’s and PhD fees for international students (PDF) (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • İstinye University: 2026–27 quotas and tuition fees (international.istinye.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Istanbul Bilgi University: 2026–27 undergraduate tuition for international students (PDF) (bilgi.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Nişantaşı University: application portal with programme fees (academic year not stated) (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • TED University: undergraduate tuition fees (academic year not stated) (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Yaşar University: tuition and scholarships (academic year not stated) (international.yasar.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Topkapı University: tuition fees and quotas (no extractable current table) (topkapi.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • YÖKAK: accreditation agencies with active registration (yokak.gov.tr) — which national programme accreditors are currently registered.
  • Law No. 657 on Civil Servants (Turkish) (mevzuat.gov.tr) — Article 48 general conditions for civil-service posts, including Turkish citizenship.

All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.

Updated: