Bachelor's program

English Translation and Interpretation in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 English / Turkish
4 yearsDuration
English / TurkishLanguage of instruction
$4 400Lowest dated fee, 2026–27

English Translation and Interpreting in Turkey at a glance

English Translation and Interpreting in Turkey is a four-year bachelor’s that trains professional translators and interpreters between English and Turkish. Courses are taught mainly in English, but the working language pair is English–Turkish, so you need strong Turkish as well. For 2026–27, dated international fees on this page start at $4 400 a year (Üsküdar) and rise to $8 500 (Bahçeşehir).

  • Length: four years, plus a preparatory year if your English or Turkish is below entry level.
  • Two skills tracks: written translation (literary, legal, technical, audiovisual) and interpreting (consecutive and simultaneous).
  • Language pair: English↔Turkish. Okan also offers Russian and Chinese translation and interpreting, each paired with Turkish, which is worth knowing if Russian is your first language.
  • Tools: computer-assisted translation (CAT) tools and terminology management are part of modern curricula.

What the degree covers

The first year sharpens both languages; the second introduces translation theory and text types; the last two years specialise and simulate professional work. The sequence below is typical for Turkish programmes; the university’s course catalogue gives the exact courses.

Year 1
  • Advanced English reading and writing
  • Turkish grammar and composition
  • Introduction to translation studies
  • Linguistics
Year 2
  • Text analysis for translators
  • Translation of economic and administrative texts
  • Consecutive interpreting basics
  • Second foreign language
Year 3
  • Legal and technical translation
  • Literary translation
  • Simultaneous interpreting in booths
  • CAT tools and terminology management
Year 4
  • Audiovisual translation and subtitling
  • Interpreting practice: conferences and liaison
  • Translation project management
  • Internship at a translation agency or institution

Ask whether the department has interpreting booths and whether students practise with real recordings of conferences and speeches. Interpreting is learned by doing, and the equipment shows how seriously the programme treats it.

Entry requirements for international applicants

  • School certificate with transcripts; universities set their own minimum average. Holders of an 11-year certificate from Russia or other CIS countries should confirm that it is accepted.
  • Exams. Private universities accept school grades, SAT or YÖS results in different combinations. The 2026 TR-YÖS/1 sitting was on 12 April 2026.
  • English, at a high level. Translation departments often set higher English thresholds than other programmes. Bahçeşehir, for example, requires TOEFL iBT 96 or PTE Academic 78 for Translation and Interpreting, compared with 72 and 55 for most of its programmes, and does not accept IELTS or Duolingo.
  • Turkish. Even where the medium of instruction is English, you translate into and out of Turkish. Ask how the department assesses Turkish and whether a Turkish preparatory year is available.
  • After admission: the diploma equivalence certificate from the Ministry of National Education and a student residence permit.

How to compare translation programmes

  1. Medium of instruction. Üsküdar, İstinye and Bahçeşehir list their programmes as English; Okan and Yeni Yüzyıl as English and Turkish; Haliç lists separate Turkish and English tracks. Pick the balance that matches your stronger language.
  2. Interpreting facilities. Booths, recording equipment and trained interpreting staff.
  3. Technology. Licences for CAT tools such as Trados or memoQ, and courses in machine-translation post-editing, which is now a large part of the market.
  4. Internships. Links with translation agencies, publishers, media and international organisations in Istanbul.
  5. Accreditation. Language-education and humanities programmes in Turkey can be accredited by DEDAK, STAR or FEDEK, all registered with YÖKAK; ask for the department’s status.

Careers and professional status

Graduates work as freelance or in-house translators, localisation and subtitling specialists, conference and liaison interpreters, editors, and language specialists in trade, tourism, media and international organisations. Post-editing of machine translation and terminology work are growing parts of the job.

There is no single licence to translate in Turkey. Certified (“sworn”) translations of official documents are done through notaries, each with its own conditions for registering translators. Conference interpreters build their standing through experience and professional associations. If you plan to work outside Turkey, check whether your country has a state-certified translator exam, as many do.

Who this degree suits

A good fit if you…

  • are strong in both English and Turkish, or ready to get there;
  • enjoy precise wording and research into terminology;
  • are comfortable speaking under time pressure, if interpreting appeals to you.

Think twice if you…

  • are strong in English only, with no plan to learn Turkish well;
  • want a literature degree (look at English Language and Literature);
  • are looking for an English-teaching qualification.
Where to study

Universities offering English Translation and Interpretation

Eleven universities with an English translation and interpreting bachelor’s; five publish dated 2026–27 international fees.

English Translation and Interpretation at Yeni Yuzyil UniversityEnglish Translation and Interpretation at Uskudar University
English Translation and Interpretation - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition
Yeni Yuzyil UniversityBachelorEnglish/Turkish$5 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Uskudar UniversityBachelorEnglish$4 400/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Atlas UniversityBachelorEnglish/Turkish2026–27 fee on request
Halic UniversityBachelorTurkish or English track2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Topkapi UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university admissions portal (academic year not stated)
Okan UniversityBachelorEnglish/Turkish$5 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Nisantasi UniversityBachelorEnglish2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Istinye UniversityBachelorEnglish$8 000/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Yasar UniversityBachelorEnglish/Turkish2026–27 fee on request · university fee page (academic year not stated)
Bahcesehir UniversityBachelorEnglish$8 500/yr · fee source (2026–27)
Gelisim UniversityBachelorEnglish/Turkish2026–27 fee on request

Fees are the universities’ own list prices, checked on 29 September 2026. “On request” means the university publishes no fee with a 2026–27 label; ask it for a written quote.

Budgeting for 2026–27

Dated 2026–27 fees on this page: Üsküdar $4 400 a year, with a 10% discount for full payment in advance and a $1 000 deposit; Yeni Yüzyıl $5 000 (its list also shows a 50% scholarship column of $2 500); Okan $5 000, with 5% off for advance payment; İstinye $8 000; and Bahçeşehir $8 500. Atlas, Haliç, Topkapı, Nişantaşı, Yaşar and Gelişim publish no fee labelled for 2026–27.

Budget also for a laptop that runs CAT software, a good headset for interpreting practice, housing, health insurance and the residence permit.

Common questions

Yes, in practice. The working language pair is English–Turkish, so you translate into and out of Turkish even when lectures are in English.

Üsküdar lists $4 400 a year, with 10% off for full advance payment. Okan and Yeni Yüzyıl list $5 000.

TOEFL iBT 96 or PTE Academic 78, higher than for its other programmes. It does not accept IELTS, Duolingo or TOEFL Home Edition.

Okan University offers Russian Translation and Interpreting paired with Turkish, at $4 500 a year for 2026–27, separate from the English programmes on this page.

There is no general licence. Certified translations of official documents are done through notaries, which set their own conditions for registering translators.

Most programmes teach both. Check for interpreting booths and practice hours before choosing.

Planning to study translation and interpreting in Turkey?

A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and any scholarship; the migration authority decides the residence permit.

Official sources

Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:

  • BAU: language proficiency scores (int.bau.edu.tr) — accepted English tests and minimum scores by programme group.
  • Üsküdar University: 2026–27 international tuition fees (international.uskudar.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026–27 undergraduate fees for international students (PDF) (international.yeniyuzyil.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Istanbul Okan University: 2026–27 tuition fees (study.okan.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • İstinye University: 2026–27 quotas and tuition fees (international.istinye.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Bahçeşehir University (BAU): 2026–27 tuition fees (int.bau.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Haliç University: international tuition fees (academic year not stated) (international.halic.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Nişantaşı University: application portal with programme fees (academic year not stated) (apply.nisantasi.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Yaşar University: tuition and scholarships (academic year not stated) (international.yasar.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • Topkapı University: tuition fees and quotas (no extractable current table) (topkapi.edu.tr) — fee basis and academic-year label used in the table above.
  • YÖKAK: accreditation agencies with active registration (yokak.gov.tr) — which national programme accreditors are currently registered.

All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.

Updated: