Early Childhood Education in Turkey: the short answer
Early Childhood Education (Okul Öncesi Öğretmenliği, also called Pre-School Teaching) is a four-year teacher-education bachelor's that qualifies you to teach children aged roughly 0 to 6 in nurseries and kindergartens. Most programmes teach in Turkish; in our catalogue the English-taught exception is TED University in Ankara at $7,500 a year. Turkish-taught options for 2026/27 cost $4,500 at Okan, $5,000 at Biruni and $5,500 at Medipol.
Early Childhood Education or Child Development?
The two names sound alike but lead to different jobs. Early Childhood Education sits in a faculty of education, includes teaching practice in kindergartens and produces preschool teachers. Child Development sits in a faculty of health sciences and prepares specialists who assess development and support children in hospitals, social services and early-intervention settings. If the classroom is your goal, stay here; if you want the clinical and social-care side, read our Child Development guide.
What you study: Okan's Pre-School Education plan
Okan's published plan starts with child development itself: development and education in infancy and in early childhood, child health and first aid, and educational psychology. The second year turns to subject teaching for young children (science, mathematics, music, play and drama), and the third to art education, child observation and assessment, literacy readiness and mental health in childhood.
The final year is spent largely in schools, with Teaching Practice I and II, adaptation to school and early literacy, and special education and inclusion. Community service practice and character and values education appear along the way.
- Introduction to Early Childhood Education
- Development in Infancy and Early Childhood
- Child Health and First Aid
- Educational Psychology
- Science and Mathematics Education in Early Childhood
- Music Education, Drama
- Play Development and Education
- Pre-school Education Programmes
- Art Education in Early Childhood
- Child Recognition and Evaluation
- Mental Health in Childhood
- Classroom Management
- Teaching Practice I–II
- Adaptation to School and Early Literacy
- Special Education and Inclusion
- Pre-school Education Policy
Who this degree suits
A good fit if you…
- Enjoy long days with small children and have patience for routines, play and care.
- Want to work in private kindergartens, international preschools or your own early-years centre.
- Speak Turkish, or can study at TED in English.
Reconsider if you…
- Prefer research or therapy with children; child development or psychology may suit better.
- Need a Turkish state-school post without Turkish citizenship.
Entry and language
For Turkish-taught programmes, you need Turkish at B2: Okan, for example, asks for a TÖMER B2 certificate or a pass in its own Turkish exam, and otherwise places students in a Turkish preparatory year. Working with young children in Turkish all day makes that level a practical necessity, not a formality.
TED admits on school results or international exams (for instance an attestat with at least 60%, SAT 1,000 or IB 29) and teaches in English; if your English is below its level, the preparatory year costs as much as a year of the degree.
Careers after Early Childhood Education
Graduates teach in private nurseries, kindergartens and international preschools, coordinate early-years programmes, work in children's publishing and educational toys, and open their own centres. A master's leads to teacher-training, curriculum or policy roles.
Permanent teaching posts in Turkish state schools are civil-service posts, and Civil Servants Law No. 657 (Article 48) requires Turkish citizenship. Early-years qualifications are also regulated at national level, so check your home country's rules for recognising a foreign preschool-teaching degree.
Universities offering Early Childhood Education
Published annual tuition for international students, with the year of each list.

| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Okan University | Bachelor (Pre-School Teaching) | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Biruni University | Bachelor (Preschool Education) | Turkish | $5,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor (Pre-School Teaching) | Turkish | $5,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $7,500/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
Advance or cash payment reduces the Turkish-taught fees to $4,275 at Okan, $4,500 at Biruni and $4,950 at Medipol. TED's published scholarships for international students range from 25% to 100% of its fee. Okan also runs a Turkish-taught master's in Pre-school Education, with and without a thesis.
How StudyU helps early-years applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. For this degree we weigh Turkish-taught and English-taught options against your language level, check recognition in the country where you want to teach, and prepare the application. Decisions stay with their owners: the university on the place and any scholarship, the consulate on your visa, the migration authority on residence.
Early Childhood Education: FAQ
Yes, at TED University in Ankara ($7,500 a year; the list does not state the academic year). The other options here teach in Turkish.
Plan for B2. Without it, universities such as Okan place you in a Turkish preparatory year first.
No. Child Development is a health-sciences degree; Early Childhood Education trains preschool teachers.
Yes. Okan’s final year includes Teaching Practice I and II in kindergartens.
Okan’s Turkish-taught programme: $4,500 a year for 2026/27, or $4,275 paid in advance.
In private institutions, with a work permit; permanent state-school posts require Turkish citizenship.
Ready to apply for Early Childhood Education?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for Early Childhood Education on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Okan University: Pre-School Education study plan (ois.okan.edu.tr) — courses by semester.
- Okan University: 2026/27 tuition (study.okan.edu.tr) — Pre-School Teaching $4,500 ($4,275 advance); pre-school master’s listed.
- Okan University: language requirements (study.okan.edu.tr) — TÖMER B2 or Okan Turkish exam, otherwise preparatory year.
- Biruni University: 2026/27 fees (int.biruni.edu.tr) — Preschool Education $5,000 ($4,500 cash).
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — Pre-School Teaching $5,500 ($4,950 advance).
- TED University: fees and scholarships (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — Early Childhood Education $7,500, scholarships 25–100%.
- TED University: admission criteria (ipo.tedu.edu.tr) — attestat 60%, SAT 1000, IB 29.
- Civil Servants Law No. 657 (mevzuat.gov.tr) — Article 48 general conditions.
Universities quote these tuition fees in dollars, so nothing is converted. For a euro budget, use the ECB reference rate of 29 September 2026: €1 = $1.1355.
Fields worth comparing
Updated: