Public Relations and Publicity in Turkey: the short answer
Public Relations and Publicity (Halkla İlişkiler ve Tanıtım) is a four-year communication degree in Turkey that trains you to plan campaigns, handle the media, protect reputations and measure results. Most tracks are Turkish-taught; Bahçeşehir and İstanbul Bilgi teach it in English for 2026/27 at $8,500 and $12,000 a year, while Turkish-taught fees for the same year start at $4,200 at Üsküdar. Two-year associate programmes and master's degrees are also available.
Turkish universities use two closely related titles. Public Relations and Publicity puts the weight on corporate communication, media relations and promotion; Public Relations and Advertising adds more creative and advertising-planning courses. Both sit in faculties of communication and lead to similar jobs, so this page compares them side by side and names each programme exactly as the university lists it.
For an international student the practical question is language. PR is writing-heavy: press releases, speeches, social-media copy and crisis statements. Choose the language you can write in persuasively for four years, not only the one you can read.
What you study, year by year
Course titles vary, but most Turkish curricula move from communication theory to campaign practice in the same order.
- Introduction to communication and public relations
- Writing for media and basic journalism
- Sociology and psychology of audiences
- Visual communication basics
- Public relations theories and models
- Media relations and press-release writing
- Marketing and advertising principles
- Research methods and public-opinion surveys
- Corporate communication and reputation management
- Digital and social-media PR
- Event, sponsorship and promotion planning
- Communication law and ethics
- Crisis and issues management
- Campaign planning with measurement
- Internship at an agency, company or institution
- Graduation campaign or research project
A strong programme makes you produce real material: a media kit, a crisis plan, a campaign with a budget and success measures. Ask to see examples of final-year projects and whether students work on briefs from real clients or non-profit organisations.
Entry requirements for international applicants
There is no portfolio or aptitude test for PR at the private universities compared here; admission rests on documents and language.
- a completed secondary-school certificate with transcript, meeting each university's minimum; Üsküdar, for instance, sets 3 out of 5 for attestats from Russia, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan;
- for Turkish-taught tracks, a Turkish certificate at the university's required level or a pass in its own exam; Haliç asks for TÖMER C1 for Turkish programmes, and without it you start with a preparatory year;
- for English-taught tracks, an accepted English score or the university's proficiency exam, otherwise an English preparatory year;
- a passport copy and, after admission, the equivalence certificate (denklik) for your school diploma, issued by Turkey's Ministry of National Education;
- for a master's, a bachelor's diploma and transcript; a communication background helps but is not always required.
A short writing sample is not usually requested, but preparing one helps you check your own level before you commit to a language.
Application steps and timing
For a September start, work backwards from the university's application deadline, which each private university sets and publishes on its own portal.
- About a year before. Decide between Turkish and English teaching and between the Publicity and Advertising variants; shortlist three to five programmes.
- Six to nine months before. Take the English test or start Turkish lessons; gather and translate your school documents.
- Application window. Apply online with passport, transcript and language evidence; the university issues a conditional or final acceptance letter.
- After acceptance. Pay the deposit the letter specifies, then apply for a student visa at the Turkish consulate, which decides on the visa.
- On arrival. Register at the university, obtain the denklik certificate and apply for a student residence permit, which the migration authority decides.
How to compare PR programmes
- Publicity or Advertising variant. Read the third- and fourth-year electives; one programme may lean to corporate communication, the other to creative campaigns.
- Practice. Look for student agencies, campus radio or TV, client briefs and a compulsory internship.
- Staff with industry work. Lecturers who ran campaigns or newsrooms bring better briefs and contacts.
- Language of core courses. An English-taught track should teach writing and campaign courses in English, not only theory.
- Graduate route. Üsküdar and Gelişim offer master's programmes with and without a thesis; Bahçeşehir runs a PhD in advertising and public relations.
Common mistakes: choosing a Turkish track without planning for the preparatory year, comparing tuition without checking whether it is per year or for the whole programme, and assuming an English-language diploma alone makes you employable in Istanbul agencies, where much client work runs in Turkish.
Universities and published tuition
Base tuition for Public Relations and Publicity programmes and closely related Public Relations and Advertising programmes, with the fee year and whether the amount is annual or for the whole programme.


| University | Programme as listed | Degree | Language | Published tuition | Fee year and basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gelisim University | Public Relations and Publicity (Turkish) | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500/yr | 2025/26 list, latest published · per year |
| Uskudar University | Public Relations and Publicity (Turkish) | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,200/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Okan University | Public Relations & Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Medipol University | Public Relations and Advertising, 100% English | Bachelor | English | $4,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Halic University | Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/yr | Year not stated · per year |
| Altinbas University | Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr | 2025/26 list, latest published · per year |
| Nisantasi University | Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,463/yr | Year not stated · list fee per year |
| Medipol University | Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Istinye University | Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor | Turkish | $7,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Bahcesehir University | Public Relations and Publicity | Bachelor | English | $8,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Bilgi University | Public Relations and Publicity | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year, VAT included |
| Gelisim University | Public Relations and Publicity (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,750 | 2025/26 list, latest published · whole programme |
| Uskudar University | Public Relations and Advertising (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,400 | 2026/27 · full programme |
| Gelisim University | Public Relations and Publicity (thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,500 | 2025/26 list, latest published · whole programme |
| Uskudar University | Public Relations and Advertising (thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,800 | 2026/27 · full programme |
| Bahcesehir University | Marketing Communications and Public Relations (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $12,000 | 2026/27 · whole programme |
| Bahcesehir University | Marketing Communications and Public Relations (thesis) | Master | Turkish | $14,000 | 2026/27 · whole programme |
| Bahcesehir University | Advertising and Public Relations (PhD) | PhD | Turkish | $40,000 | 2026/27 · whole programme |
| Gelisim University | Public Relations and Advertisement (Halkla İlişkiler ve Tanıtım) | Associate | Turkish | $2,750/yr | 2025/26 list, latest published · per year |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Public Relations and Publicity | Associate | Not stated in fee list | $3,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Medipol University | Public Relations and Publicity | Associate | Turkish | $3,250/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Nisantasi University | Public Relations and Promotion | Associate | Turkish | $3,278/yr | Year not stated · list fee per year |
| Bilgi University | Public Relations | Associate | English | $3,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year, VAT included |
Sources: İstanbul Gelişim University, İstanbul Gelişim University (graduate fees), Üsküdar University, İstanbul Okan University, İstanbul Medipol University, Haliç University, Altınbaş University, Nişantaşı University, İstinye University, Bahçeşehir University, Bahçeşehir University (programme page), İstanbul Bilgi University, İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University. Where a university shows a list fee and a lower discounted or scholarship price, the table keeps the list fee.
On top of tuition, plan for a preparatory year if needed (Gelişim's 2025/26 list charges $1,750 for Turkish preparation; Yeni Yüzyıl charges $250 per Turkish level for 2026/27), housing, health insurance and the residence permit. Yeni Yüzyıl also lists a 50% scholarship column in its 2026/27 fee table; ask each university in writing which rate applies to you.
Careers after a PR degree
Graduates work in PR and communication agencies, in-house corporate communication teams, brand and marketing departments, NGOs and international organisations, event and sponsorship companies, and as social-media or content specialists. With experience, the path leads to account director, head of communications or crisis-communication consultant roles.
PR is not a licensed profession, so evidence matters: an internship, a portfolio of written work and campaigns, and languages. International graduates with fluent Turkish plus their home language are useful to agencies serving clients in both markets. Working in Turkey after graduation requires a work permit, which the employer applies for.
Who this programme suits
A strong fit if you…
- you write easily and enjoy adapting a message for different audiences;
- you follow the news and social media and like to understand why a story spreads;
- you stay calm under pressure, which crisis communication demands;
- you want a degree with internships and project work, not only exams.
Think twice if…
- you dislike writing and presenting in front of others;
- you want a purely creative design role, where Visual Communication Design fits better;
- you want to avoid learning Turkish but plan to work in the Turkish market.
Plan your Public Relations application
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and any scholarship, the consulate decides the visa, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.
Frequently asked questions
Both are four-year communication degrees. Publicity programmes (Halkla İlişkiler ve Tanıtım) focus on corporate communication, media relations and promotion, while Advertising programmes (Halkla İlişkiler ve Reklamcılık) add more advertising strategy and creative work. Compare the elective lists rather than the title.
Yes. For 2026/27 Bahçeşehir and İstanbul Bilgi list English-taught Public Relations and Publicity bachelor's programmes, Medipol lists a 100% English Public Relations and Advertising track, and Bilgi also offers a two-year English associate programme in Public Relations.
For 2026/27, Turkish-taught bachelor's fees on this page start at $4,200 a year at Üsküdar, and English-taught ones range from $4,500 at Medipol to $12,000 at Bilgi. Gelişim's latest list, for 2025/26, shows $3,500.
Yes. Associate programmes in public relations are listed by Yeni Yüzyıl, Medipol, Nişantaşı, Gelişim and Bilgi, with fees between $2,750 and $3,500 a year. They prepare you for assistant roles in communication teams; ask the university in writing whether and how graduates can continue to a bachelor's.
No portfolio is required by the universities compared here. Admission is based on your school certificate, grades and language evidence, although a strong motivation letter helps when a university asks for one.
Under an agreement with StudyU, we compare programmes by language, content and total cost, check your documents, submit the applications and follow the agreed steps. The university decides on admission and scholarships.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas shows which universities run each PR programme and in which language; tuition sources are also linked under the table.
Updated: