Bachelor's program

Media and Visual Arts in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 Turkish (English alternatives)
4 yearsDuration
TurkishLanguage of instruction
$4,500/yr (2026/27)Tuition from

What this degree covers

Media and Visual Arts is a four-year communication degree that trains you to create and think critically about images: photography, video, digital illustration, animation, installation and the way visual media shape culture. İstanbul Medipol University teaches it in Turkish in its School of Communication for $4,500 a year in 2026/27, or $4,050 if the year is paid in advance.

The programme sits between a fine-arts degree and a media degree. Compared with fine arts, it spends more time on camera-based and digital work and on the media industry; compared with journalism or film programmes, it is freer and more experimental, with space for personal projects and exhibitions.

If you need to study in English, the closest options in Istanbul are visual communication design programmes, which are more design-led: Bilgi's at $12,000 a year (2026/27) and Sabancı's Visual Arts and Visual Communication Design at $36,500.

What you study

Studio and practice courses run through every year. Theory courses in art history, media theory and visual culture support the studio work, and each year usually ends with a portfolio review or group exhibition.

Year 1
  • Drawing and composition
  • Colour and form
  • History of art
  • Introduction to visual culture
  • Photography I
Year 2
  • Digital imaging and illustration
  • Video production
  • Contemporary art
  • Media theory
  • Creative studio
Year 3
  • Video art and installation
  • Motion graphics and animation
  • Curating and exhibition design
  • Portfolio development
  • Project studio
Year 4
  • Individual art or media project
  • Professional practice and the art market
  • Internship or studio placement
  • Graduation exhibition

Studio work is easier to follow with intermediate Turkish, but theory courses, written critiques and exhibition texts require a solid academic level. Students who arrive with B2 usually need the first year to become comfortable writing about art in Turkish.

Istanbul's gallery scene, biennial and festivals are part of the learning environment; ask the department how often students exhibit outside the university.

Entry requirements for international applicants

Private universities admit international students on school documents; for creative programmes a portfolio makes the application stronger even when it is not required.

  • School certificate. Diploma and transcript; equivalence completed at registration.
  • Turkish. Medipol's programme is Turkish-taught, so B2 Turkish or its Turkish foundation year ($1,390 in 2026/27) comes first.
  • Portfolio. Ten to twenty pieces (photographs, drawings, short videos, digital work) with brief notes on each.
  • English-taught alternatives. Bilgi accepts TOEFL iBT 75, PTE 60, CAE grade C or FCE grade B; otherwise you take its exam and possibly a preparatory year.

How to choose a visual arts or media programme

  1. Art, media or design? Media and Visual Arts is expressive and experimental; visual communication design is commercial and brief-driven; radio, TV and cinema is production-focused.
  2. Equipment access. Ask about camera loans, studios, editing suites and print facilities.
  3. Exhibitions and festivals. A programme that exhibits student work publicly helps you build a portfolio and contacts.
  4. Language. Turkish-taught programmes are much cheaper; English ones cost more but suit international careers.
  5. Faculty. Check whether instructors are working artists, photographers or filmmakers.
Where to study

Universities offering Media and Visual Arts

Medipol's Media and Visual Arts programme and related visual-communication programmes, with the academic year of each fee.

Media and Visual Arts at Medipol University
Media and Visual Arts - universities and tuition
UniversityDegreeLanguageTuition
Medipol UniversityBachelorTurkish$4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Okan University — Visual Communication DesignBachelorTurkish$4,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Halic University — Visual Communication DesignBachelorTurkish$4,700/yr (year not stated) · fee source
Istinye University — Visual Communication DesignBachelorTurkish$7,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Bilgi University — Visual Communication DesignBachelorEnglish$12,000/yr (2026/27) · fee source
Sabanci University — Visual Arts and Visual Communication DesignBachelorEnglish$36,500/yr (2026/27) · fee source

Fees are per year before scholarships. Only Medipol's programme carries the Media and Visual Arts title; the others are design-led alternatives. Haliç does not state the academic year.

What it costs

Four years at Medipol cost about $18,000 in tuition at the 2026/27 fee, or $16,200 if every year is paid in advance at the same price.

Creative degrees have extra costs: a camera, storage drives, software subscriptions, printing and exhibition materials. Plan a few hundred dollars a year on top of tuition, depending on your medium.

Add a Turkish foundation year if needed, plus rent, transport, residence permit and insurance.

Careers after Media and Visual Arts

Graduates build mixed careers across art and media:

  • photographer, videographer or video editor;
  • content creator and visual designer for brands and agencies;
  • motion-graphics or 2D animation artist;
  • gallery, museum or festival assistant and junior curator;
  • independent artist combining exhibitions with commercial work.

Creative careers are portfolio-driven and often freelance at the start. Working for a Turkish employer requires a work permit.

Is this program right for you?

It clicks if you…

  • You already make images or videos and want to develop your own voice.
  • You are curious about art history and contemporary visual culture.
  • You are ready to study in Turkish, or you pick an English design alternative.

Consider carefully if…

  • You want a clearly defined job title after graduation; design or engineering degrees give more structure.
  • You dislike public critique of your work.

How to apply

  1. Nine to twelve months ahead: start Turkish study and assemble a portfolio.
  2. Application: submit passport, school documents and portfolio through the university's international portal.
  3. Offer: pay the first instalment or deposit requested and apply for a student visa.
  4. Arrival: register, start Turkish foundation if required and apply for the residence permit.

FAQ about the program

Medipol's programme is Turkish-taught. English-taught alternatives are visual communication design programmes such as Bilgi's or Sabancı's Visual Arts and Visual Communication Design.

$4,500 a year in 2026/27, or $4,050 for payment in advance.

It is strongly recommended for creative programmes, even where it is not formally required.

Media and Visual Arts is more artistic and experimental; visual communication design focuses on graphic, brand and digital design for clients.

A laptop that runs photo and video editing software is the main purchase; many students add a camera once they know their medium.

It has a large gallery scene, a contemporary art biennial, film and photography festivals and a big advertising and media industry, which together offer many ways to show work and find paid projects.

Photography, video, content creation, motion graphics and gallery or festival work are the usual first paths.

Planning to study visual arts in Istanbul?

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. Portfolio review, document preparation and application support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; the university decides admission, and the migration authorities decide the residence permit.

Official sources

Also checked on 29 September 2026 on the institutions’ own sites:

  • İstanbul Medipol University: 2026-2027 tuition list (PDF) (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — Media and Visual Arts fee, advance-payment amount and Turkish foundation fee.
  • İstanbul Okan University: tuition 2026-2027 (study.okan.edu.tr) — Visual Communication Design fee.
  • İstinye University: 2026-2027 quotas and tuition (international.istinye.edu.tr) — Visual Communication Design fee.
  • Haliç University: tuition fees (international.halic.edu.tr) — Visual Communication Design fee.
  • İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026-2027 undergraduate tuition (bilgi.edu.tr) — Visual Communication Design fee.
  • İstanbul Bilgi University: admission requirements (bilgi.edu.tr) — English scores.
  • Sabancı University: tuition fee (iro.sabanciuniv.edu) — 2026-2027 undergraduate fee.
  • Sabancı University: bachelor's programmes (iro.sabanciuniv.edu) — Visual Arts and Visual Communication Design, 100% English.

Fees are in US dollars as published for the academic year shown; the offer letter confirms the amount.

Updated: