Public Relations and Advertising in Turkey: the short answer
Public Relations and Advertising is a four-year communication bachelor's that teaches how organisations build reputation and sell ideas: campaign strategy, copywriting, media relations, brand communication, crisis management and digital marketing. For 2026–27, English-taught tracks start at $4 000 a year at Ankara Medipol and $4 500 at İstanbul Medipol; Turkish-taught programmes cost $4 000 at Ankara Medipol, $4 500 at Okan, $5 000 at Yeni Yüzyıl, $5 500 at Medipol and $7 000 at İstinye.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Degree and length | Bachelor's, 4 years; associate degrees in public relations take 2 years |
| Teaching language | Turkish or English |
| Faculty | Faculty of Communication |
| Selection | School results; no portfolio is normally required |
| Published tuition, 2026–27 | $4 000–$7 000 a year at most listed universities; Bilgi's English programmes $12 000 |
| Best evidence for employers | A campaign portfolio and agency internships |
Istanbul is Turkey’s advertising and media capital, home to the country’s main agencies, broadcasters and brand headquarters. Studying there makes internships and part-time agency work easier to reach, although paid work requires a permit.
What you study
The degree mixes theory (communication, persuasion, consumer behaviour, media law) with studio and agency-style projects. From the second year students plan campaigns for real or simulated clients, write copy, design basic visuals and analyse media data. The final year usually includes an internship and a full campaign or research project.
- Introduction to communication
- Principles of public relations
- Principles of advertising
- Writing for media
- Consumer behaviour
- Copywriting and creative strategy
- Media planning
- Visual communication basics
- Corporate communication and reputation
- Crisis communication
- Digital marketing and social-media management
- Internship
- Integrated campaign project
- Brand management
- Communication research and analytics
- Ethics and law in advertising
A good fit if you
- like writing, ideas and persuasion;
- follow brands, campaigns and social media closely;
- enjoy teamwork and presenting to clients.
Consider another route if you
- prefer long-form reporting, where journalism is closer;
- want a technical design degree, where visual communication design fits better;
- are uncomfortable with deadlines and client feedback.
Entry requirements for international applicants
Communication faculties at private universities admit on school results; the language of the track is the main requirement.
- School certificate and transcript. The Ministry of National Education issues the equivalence certificate (denklik) after admission.
- Exams. SAT or TR-YÖS are optional at many private universities and can support scholarship requests; state universities usually require them.
- Language. An accepted English score or the university’s exam for English tracks; a Turkish certificate or preparatory year for Turkish tracks.
- Associate degree route. Two-year vocational programmes in public relations admit on the school certificate and suit applicants who want a shorter, practical start.
The university decides admission and scholarships; the Presidency of Migration Management decides the student residence permit.
How to compare PR and advertising programmes
Look for evidence of real campaigns, not only course lists.
| What to check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Agency partnerships and internships | Placements lead to first jobs in Istanbul agencies |
| Student campaign competitions | Awards and live briefs strengthen the portfolio |
| Studios and software | Access to design, video and analytics tools |
| Language of the track | English helps with international agencies; Turkish with local clients |
| Double major options | Pairing with marketing or political science widens career paths |
Programme titles vary: Public Relations and Publicity, Advertising, and New Media and Communication overlap with PR and Advertising, so compare curricula before choosing.
Universities offering Public Relations and Advertising
Bachelor's and associate fees are annual list prices for international students.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 000/yr (2026–27) |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4 000/yr (2026–27) |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 000/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | Turkish | $7 000/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Bilgi University Public Relations and Publicity; Advertising | Bachelor | English | $12 000/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 500/yr (2025–26 list, latest published) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Fee on request · application portal (academic year not stated) |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | Fee on request · fee page (academic year not stated) |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Fee on request · admissions portal (no current fee list) |
| Istanbul Galata University | Bachelor | Turkish | Fee on request (latest published list is for 2024–25) |
| Bilgi University Public Relations | Associate | English | $3 500/yr (2026–27) · fee source |
| Gelisim University Public Relations and Advertisement | Associate | Turkish | $2 750/yr (2025–26 list, latest published) · fee source |
| Nisantasi University Public Relations and Promotion | Associate | Turkish | Fee on request · application portal (academic year not stated) |
| Gelisim University Public Relations and Publicity | Master | Turkish | $4 500 thesis (2025–26 list) · fee source · $3 750 non-thesis |
Fees were checked on 29 September 2026. Several universities publish lower advance-payment or scholarship prices next to the list fee; the university decides who receives them.
Careers after PR and advertising
Graduates join advertising and PR agencies as account executives, copywriters, strategists and media planners; corporate communication and marketing teams; digital and social-media agencies; event and sponsorship companies; and public-sector or NGO communication offices. Many start in agencies and move client-side after a few years.
Advertising and PR are not licensed professions, so portfolios, internships and results matter most. Foreign graduates need a work permit to be employed in Turkey. A master’s in public relations, marketing communication or strategic communication helps for management and academic roles.
Public Relations and Advertising in Turkey: questions applicants ask
Yes. Ankara Medipol ($4 000) and İstanbul Medipol ($4 500) list English-taught tracks for 2026–27, and Bilgi teaches Public Relations and Publicity and Advertising in English for $12 000.
For 2026–27, Ankara Medipol charges $4 000 a year for both its Turkish and English tracks. Two-year associate programmes, such as Bilgi’s English-taught Public Relations at $3 500, cost less per year.
Usually not; school results decide admission. Build a portfolio during the degree for internships and jobs.
PR manages reputation and relationships with media and the public; advertising creates paid messages to promote brands. Most Turkish programmes teach both.
Internships are part of most programmes, but paid work requires permission under Turkish rules for international students.
Programme comparison, eligibility checks, document preparation and application follow-up are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission.
Planning a communication degree in Turkey?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Tuition figures come from the universities’ own fee lists for international students: Ankara Medipol University: 2026–2027 tuition fee list; İstanbul Medipol University: 2026–2027 tuition fee list (PDF); İstanbul Okan University: 2026–2027 tuition fees; İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University: 2026–2027 undergraduate fees (PDF); İstinye University: quotas and tuition fees for 2026–2027 entrants; İstanbul Bilgi University: 2026–2027 tuition and fees; İstanbul Gelişim University: international fee list (PDF); Nişantaşı University: international brochure (PDF); Yaşar University: tuition and scholarships. Where a list is available online, the fee cell in the table links to it. All fees are published in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Fees were checked on 29 September 2026; confirm language, curriculum, quota and tuition with the university for your intake before paying.
Updated: