Ergotherapy in Turkey: the short answer
Ergotherapy (ergoterapi) is the Turkish name for occupational therapy: a four-year health-sciences bachelor's that trains therapists to help people of all ages regain independence in daily activities after illness, injury or disability, through assessment, activity-based intervention, assistive technology and environmental adaptation. Most programmes teach in Turkish, with published 2026/27 fees of $4,000 to $4,500 at Biruni, Uskudar, Atlas and Medipol; Halic lists both a Turkish and an English track at $4,700.
The profession is young in Turkey. Hacettepe University opened the country's first occupational therapy bachelor's in 2009, so most private-university departments are recent.
What you study: Atlas's Occupational Therapy plan
Atlas's published plan shows a typical progression. The first year is anatomy, physiology, normal motor development and occupational therapy theories, with motion analysis and biomechanics. The second year introduces assessment methods, activities of daily living, assistive technology and occupational therapy for neurological and musculoskeletal conditions, plus the first summer internship.
The third year covers paediatrics, geriatrics, psychiatric disorders, vocational rehabilitation, hand rehabilitation and splinting, and sensory-motor and cognitive performance, followed by a second summer internship. The final year is clinical: evidence-based and problem-based practice, community-based rehabilitation and two clinical study courses.
- Anatomy I–II, General Physiology
- Introduction to Occupational Therapy
- Occupational Therapy Theories
- Normal Motor Development, Motion Analysis
- Measurement and Evaluation in OT
- Activities of Daily Living
- Assistive Technology in OT
- OT in Neurological Diseases; Summer Internship I
- OT in Paediatrics and Geriatrics
- OT in Psychiatric Disorders
- Hand Rehabilitation and Splint
- Vocational Rehabilitation; Summer Internship II
- Evidence-Based OT Practice
- Problem-Based OT Practice
- Community-Based Rehabilitation
- Clinical Study I–II
If you want to practise outside Turkey
Occupational therapy is a regulated health profession in most countries, and registration boards look closely at clinical hours and programme approval. The World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT) approves education programmes; Hacettepe notes that its programme was WFOT-approved for 2012–2016. Before enrolling, ask the department whether it holds WFOT approval now, how many supervised practice hours the degree includes, and whether it provides a course-by-course transcript in English.
Then check the registration rules of the country where you plan to work; some require an adaptation period or exam for foreign-trained therapists.
Who ergotherapy suits
A good choice if you…
- Want a hands-on health career focused on function and independence rather than diagnosis.
- Are creative in adapting activities, tools and environments for people.
- Speak Turkish, or will learn it well enough to work with patients.
Consider alternatives if you…
- Are more interested in exercise-based rehabilitation of movement; compare Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation.
- Need a fully English clinical environment; even on an English track, patients in Turkish clinics speak Turkish.
Language and entry
Clinical placements and internships happen with Turkish-speaking patients, so Turkish at B2 is the realistic minimum for the Turkish-taught programmes and a strong asset on Halic's English track. Universities typically accept a TÖMER B2 certificate or test you and place you in a preparatory year; Okan's published rule is a good example of how this works. Admission itself is on the school diploma and transcript; biology and chemistry grades matter.
Careers after ergotherapy
Occupational therapists work in hospitals and rehabilitation centres, paediatric and sensory-integration clinics, psychiatric services, nursing homes and geriatric care, schools and special-education centres, and vocational rehabilitation. Hacettepe's department describes further areas such as low-vision, hand, oncological and driver rehabilitation.
A master's opens teaching and research posts and specialised areas such as paediatric sensory integration. Working in Turkey after graduation requires a work permit arranged by the employer.
Universities offering Ergotherapy
Published tuition for international students with the year of each list.


| University | Degree | Language | Tuition (academic year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500/yr · 2025/26 list · official fee |
| Biruni University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,000/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Bachelor (Occupational Therapy) | Turkish | $4,200/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · see official sources below |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Halic University | Bachelor | English | $4,700/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · see official sources below |
| Uskudar University | Master (non-thesis) | Turkish | $4,400 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $4,800 whole programme · 2026/27 · official fee |
| Biruni University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $6,000 · 2026/27 (billing basis not stated) · official fee |
| Atlas University | Master (thesis) | Turkish | $7,415 · 2026/27 (billing basis not stated) · see official sources below |
| Biruni University | PhD | Turkish | $10,000 · 2026/27 (billing basis not stated) · official fee |
Paying upfront lowers several fees: Biruni lists $3,600 for cash payment, Medipol $4,050, Uskudar $3,800 and Atlas $3,825 with its advance-payment rate. Biruni does not run an associate degree in ergotherapy; its two-year programme is in physiotherapy.
How StudyU helps occupational-therapy applicants
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. For ergotherapy we compare programmes on clinical hours and language, raise the recognition questions for your target country, and prepare the application file. Each university rules on admission and fee reductions; visas are a consular matter and residence permits a migration-authority one.
Ergotherapy in Turkey: FAQ
Yes. Ergoterapi is the Turkish name for occupational therapy.
Halic lists an English-taught track at $4,700 a year (no academic year stated); the other programmes here teach in Turkish.
For 2026/27, $4,000–4,500 a year at Biruni, Uskudar, Atlas and Medipol; Gelisim’s 2025/26 list shows $3,500.
Yes. Atlas’s plan has two summer internships and two clinical study courses in the final year.
It depends on the country’s registration board; ask the department about WFOT approval and clinical hours before enrolling.
Physiotherapy restores movement and physical function; occupational therapy focuses on daily activities, independence and participation.
Ready to apply for Ergotherapy?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
Official pages used for Ergotherapy on this page, all checked on 29 September 2026:
- Atlas University: Occupational Therapy study plan (ois.atlas.edu.tr) — courses by semester, internships and clinical study.
- Atlas University: 2026/27 fee brochure (international.atlas.edu.tr) — Occupational Therapy $4,500 ($3,825 advance); thesis master’s $7,415.
- Biruni University: 2026/27 fees (int.biruni.edu.tr) — Ergotherapy $4,000 ($3,600 cash); OT master’s $6,000; PhD $10,000.
- Medipol University: 2026/27 fee list (mio.medipol.edu.tr) — Ergotherapy $4,500 ($4,050 advance).
- Uskudar University: 2026/27 fees (international.uskudar.edu.tr) — Occupational Therapy $4,200; master’s $4,400/$4,800 for the full programme.
- Halic University: tuition fees (international.halic.edu.tr) — Ergotherapy $4,700, Turkish and English, academic year not stated.
- Gelisim University: 2025/26 fees (international.gelisim.edu.tr) — Occupational Therapy $3,500.
- Hacettepe University: About Occupational Therapy (ergoterapi.hacettepe.edu.tr) — first department in 2009, WFOT approval 2012–2016, practice areas.
Nothing here is converted: each university publishes in US dollars. The ECB euro reference rate on 29 September 2026 stood at $1.1355.
Updated: