Bachelor's program

Speech and Language Therapy in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 Turkish or English
4 yearsDuration
Turkish or EnglishLanguage of instruction
$4,000/yr2026/27 tuition from

Speech and Language Therapy in Turkey: the short answer

Speech and Language Therapy (Dil ve Konuşma Terapisi) in Turkey is a four-year health-sciences bachelor's, mostly taught in Turkish, with English-taught tracks at Biruni and Medipol. Published bachelor's fees on this page range from $2,700 to $8,500 a year, and 2026/27-labelled lists start at $4,000. Turkish law defines the speech and language therapist as a health professional, so clinical placements are a large part of the degree.

The programme trains therapists who assess and treat speech, language, voice, fluency and swallowing disorders in children and adults. Under Law No. 1219, a speech and language therapist is a health professional who graduated from a bachelor's programme in the field (or completed a master's or doctorate in it after another bachelor's) and rehabilitates swallowing, language and speech disorders diagnosed by the relevant specialist physician.

Because patients and supervisors speak Turkish, most clinical training happens in Turkish even when lectures are in English. International students who choose an English track should still plan to reach working Turkish before the clinical years.

What you study, year by year

Curricula follow the same broad logic across faculties of health sciences; the balance between lectures and supervised practice shifts toward the clinic each year.

Year 1
  • Anatomy and physiology of speech, hearing and swallowing
  • Introduction to linguistics and phonetics
  • Developmental psychology
  • Introduction to speech and language therapy
Year 2
  • Language development in children
  • Neurology and neuroanatomy for therapists
  • Audiology basics
  • Assessment methods and observation practice
Year 3
  • Child language and speech sound disorders
  • Fluency (stuttering) and voice disorders
  • Acquired language disorders such as aphasia
  • Supervised clinical practice
Year 4
  • Dysphagia (swallowing) management
  • Augmentative and alternative communication
  • Full-time clinical internship rotations
  • Graduation project and case reports

Ask each university where placements happen: an own university hospital, rehabilitation centres, special-education schools or private clinics. The number of supervised clinical hours and the range of age groups you will treat are the best quality signals.

Entry requirements for international applicants

  • Secondary-school certificate and transcript with translation; many universities set a minimum grade, such as 50% at İstinye for non-medical programmes or 3 out of 5 for CIS attestats at Üsküdar.
  • Proof of Turkish for Turkish tracks, often at B2 from a university TÖMER or the Yunus Emre Institute for undergraduate entry; Haliç lists TÖMER C1 for its Turkish programmes.
  • Proof of English for English tracks, for example TOEFL iBT 75, IELTS Academic 6.0 or PTE 55 for exemption at İstinye; otherwise a preparatory year.
  • At registration, the high-school equivalence certificate (denklik) issued through a Turkish embassy or a Ministry of National Education directorate.
  • For master's and PhD entry: a relevant bachelor's, grades above the university's threshold and, at İstinye, an English exam score for thesis programmes plus C1 Turkish for Turkish-taught doctorates.

Biology and a good command of language at school help more than any exam score. If you are unsure between this programme and audiology or occupational therapy, compare the placement settings: speech therapy centres on communication and swallowing, audiology on hearing and balance.

Application steps and timing

  1. A year before. Plan how you will reach working Turkish before the clinical years, even if you choose an English-taught track.
  2. Six to nine months before. Take the language test the university accepts and gather translated school documents.
  3. Application. Apply online to each shortlisted university; the university decides admission.
  4. After acceptance. Pay the deposit the letter asks for and apply for a student visa; the consulate decides.
  5. On arrival. Register, obtain denklik and apply for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.

How to compare universities for speech therapy

  • Clinical network. An on-campus speech and language clinic or a university hospital shortens the path to supervised cases.
  • Language of the clinic. Even on an English track, ask in which language your patients will be treated.
  • Staff qualifications. Check how many lecturers are themselves speech and language therapists rather than physicians or psychologists.
  • Campus location. İstinye teaches the programme at its Topkapı campus; commute time to placements adds up over four years.
  • Graduate pathway. Universities with master's and PhD programmes in the field, such as Üsküdar, İstinye and Bahçeşehir, tend to run more research clinics.
Where to study

Universities and published tuition

The table shows published base tuition for speech and language therapy programmes, including graduate options where the university publishes them.

Speech and Language Therapy at Biruni UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy at Biruni University
Speech and Language Therapy - universities and published tuition
UniversityProgramme as listedDegreeLanguagePublished tuitionFee year and basis
Halic UniversitySpeech and Language TherapyBachelorTurkish$2,700/yrYear not stated · per year
Gelisim UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$3,500/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Biruni UniversitySpeech and Language TherapyBachelorTurkish$4,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Biruni UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (English)BachelorEnglish$4,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Ankara Medipol UniversityLanguage and Speech TherapyBachelorTurkish$4,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Uskudar UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$4,200/yr2026/27 · per year
Atlas UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$4,500/yr2026/27 · per year
Medipol UniversitySpeech and Language TherapyBachelorTurkish$4,500/yr2026/27 · per year
Medipol UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy, 100% EnglishBachelorEnglish$4,750/yr2026/27 · per year
Nisantasi UniversitySpeech and Language TherapyBachelorTurkish$5,463/yrYear not stated · list fee per year
Mudanya UniversityDil ve Konuşma TerapisiBachelorTurkish$6,000/yr2026/27 · standard fee per year
Istinye UniversitySpeech and Language TherapyBachelorTurkish$8,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Bahcesehir UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$8,500/yr2026/27 · per year
Uskudar UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (non-thesis)MasterTurkish$4,4002026/27 · full programme
Uskudar UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (thesis)MasterTurkish$4,8002026/27 · full programme
Istinye UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (with thesis)MasterTurkish$8,5002026/27 · whole programme
Bahcesehir UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (non-thesis)MasterTurkish$12,0002026/27 · whole programme
Bahcesehir UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (thesis)MasterTurkish$14,0002026/27 · whole programme
Atlas UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (thesis-based)MasterTurkish$15,0002026/27 · basis not stated
Uskudar UniversityPh.D. in Speech and Language TherapyPhDTurkish$9,0002026/27 · full programme
Istinye UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (PhD)PhDTurkish$12,5002026/27 · whole programme
Istinye UniversitySpeech and Language Therapy (PhD after a bachelor's)PhDTurkish$15,0002026/27 · whole programme

Sources: Haliç University, İstanbul Gelişim University, Biruni University, Üsküdar University, İstanbul Atlas University, İstanbul Medipol University, Nişantaşı University, İstinye University, Bahçeşehir University, Bahçeşehir University (programme page). Ankara Medipol and Mudanya fees come from their own 2026–2027 international fee tables; Mudanya applies a 20% early-registration price until 30 November 2026, while the table keeps its standard fee.

Graduate fees are mostly charged for the whole programme; Atlas does not state the basis in its list, so confirm it in writing. Add housing, insurance, residence-permit costs and possible preparatory study to your budget.

Careers, licensing and recognition

Speech and language therapists work in hospitals, rehabilitation and special-education centres, schools, private practices and tele-therapy services. Common specialisms are child language, autism and communication, stuttering, voice, neurological disorders and dysphagia.

Practice is regulated. In Turkey the profession is defined in Law No. 1219, and foreign nationals need a work permit and the professional authorisations that apply to health staff before they can treat patients. If you plan to work in another country, check the regulator there before enrolling: many require recognition of the diploma, proof of clinical hours and a language test in the local language.

Keep a log of your supervised hours, patient groups and case reports from the first placement. That record is often what a foreign regulator asks for.

Who this programme suits

A strong fit if you…

  • you are patient, observant and enjoy working with children and adults one to one;
  • you like linguistics and biology in equal measure;
  • you are ready to learn clinical Turkish even if you start on an English track;
  • you want a health profession with a clear clinical role.

Think twice if…

  • you want a mainly office-based or research job without patient contact;
  • you need to practise in a country whose regulator does not recognise foreign clinical training;
  • you are not prepared for four years of supervised practice and case documentation.

Plan your Speech and Language Therapy application

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission, the migration authority decides the residence permit, and professional recognition is decided by the regulator in the country where you intend to work.

Frequently asked questions

A few universities offer English tracks: Biruni publishes an English-taught Speech and Language Therapy programme and Medipol a 100% English one. Most others, including Üsküdar, Atlas, İstinye and Bahçeşehir, teach it in Turkish, and clinical work is usually done in Turkish.

Bachelor's fees on this page range from $2,700 a year (Haliç, list without a year label) to $8,500 a year (Bahçeşehir, 2026/27). Most 2026/27 fees at Istanbul private universities fall between $4,000 and $4,750 a year.

Yes. Law No. 1219 lists the speech and language therapist as a health professional who has a bachelor's in the field, or a master's or doctorate in it after another bachelor's. Working in Turkey as a foreign graduate also requires a work permit.

Several universities run master's programmes in the field, and Turkish law recognises graduates who complete a master's or doctorate in speech and language therapy after another bachelor's. Each university sets which first degrees it accepts, so check the programme's admission rules.

The bachelor's lasts four years. If you cannot prove the required Turkish or English level, most universities add a one-year language preparatory programme before the first year.

Under an agreement with StudyU, we compare programmes by language, clinical network and budget, check your documents and submit the applications. The university decides admission, and recognition of the diploma abroad is decided by the regulator in the country where you want to practise.

Official sources

All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas lists every speech and language therapy programme and its language; each fee in the table links to the university's own list.

Updated: