Bachelor's program

Software Engineering in Turkey

⏱ 4 years🌐 English or Turkish
4 yearsDuration
English or TurkishLanguage of instruction
$5,000/yr2026/27 tuition from

Software Engineering in Turkey: the short answer

Software Engineering in Turkey is a four-year bachelor's degree, taught in English or Turkish, that trains you to specify, build, test and maintain software as a team product. The universities compared below publish bachelor's tuition from $4,000 to $11,800 a year (2026/27 lists start at $5,000), and most private universities admit international applicants on their school-leaving grades plus proof of English or Turkish rather than on an entrance exam.

The degree sits between Computer Science and Computer Engineering. Computer Science goes deeper into algorithms and theory, Computer Engineering adds digital electronics and hardware, and Software Engineering spends more credits on requirements, architecture, testing, project management and long-lived codebases. All three can lead to developer roles, so the curriculum and the projects you will ship matter more than the title on the diploma.

If you have no certificate in the teaching language, expect a preparatory year before the four programme years. Most curricula also require a summer internship (staj) in a company, which in Turkey is an assessed part of the degree rather than an optional extra.

What you study, year by year

Turkish Software Engineering curricula follow a similar arc, although course names and the order of electives differ. Use the outline below to read a university's study plan critically, then confirm the actual modules in its current ECTS catalogue.

Year 1
  • Programming fundamentals in one main language
  • Calculus and linear algebra
  • Discrete mathematics
  • Introduction to software engineering and version control
Year 2
  • Data structures and algorithms
  • Object-oriented design
  • Databases and SQL
  • Computer organisation and operating systems
Year 3
  • Requirements engineering and software architecture
  • Software testing and quality assurance
  • Web, mobile or cloud development electives
  • First mandatory summer internship
Year 4
  • Software project management and DevOps
  • Security, distributed systems or AI electives
  • Second internship where the curriculum requires it
  • Team capstone project with a real or simulated client

Ask how the capstone is assessed. A strong programme grades individual contribution, code review, tests and documentation, not only whether the demo works on presentation day. Also ask whether internships abroad or in your home country can count toward the staj requirement, because some faculties accept only companies they have approved.

Entry requirements for international applicants

Private universities in Turkey set their own admission rules within the framework of the Council of Higher Education (YÖK). For Software Engineering the usual file is:

  • a completed secondary-school certificate and transcript, translated into English or Turkish; İstinye does not accept diplomas earned through distance education, and Üsküdar notes that such diplomas cannot receive the Turkish equivalence certificate;
  • a minimum grade that each university fixes: İstinye asks for at least 50% overall for non-medical programmes, and Üsküdar lists a minimum of 3 out of 5 for Russian, Kazakh, Tajik and Turkmen attestats;
  • optional exam scores that can replace the grade route, such as SAT (İstinye accepts 1200 with at least 600 in maths);
  • English evidence for English-taught tracks: İstinye exempts applicants with TOEFL iBT 75, IELTS Academic 6.0 or PTE Academic 55, while Haliç lists TOEFL iBT 75, IELTS 6.5 or PTE 58;
  • Turkish evidence for Turkish-taught tracks, typically a B2 certificate from a university TÖMER centre or the Yunus Emre Institute for undergraduate entry, or the university's own proficiency test.

State universities more often rank international applicants by exam results such as TR-YÖS or SAT, and their quotas are small. After admission you also need the high-school equivalence certificate (denklik), applied for through a Turkish embassy abroad or a provincial directorate of the Ministry of National Education in Turkey via the e-Denklik appointment system.

Maths matters more than a coding portfolio at entry. Applicants whose final-year maths grade is weak often struggle with discrete mathematics and algorithms in the first year, so revise functions, proofs and basic probability before you arrive.

Application steps and timing

  1. A year before. Revise school maths (functions, proofs, probability) and decide between English-taught and Turkish-taught tracks.
  2. Six to nine months before. Take TOEFL, IELTS or PTE, or an SAT if a university accepts it instead of grades, and translate your documents.
  3. Application. Apply online to each shortlisted university; the university decides admission and any scholarship.
  4. After acceptance. Pay the deposit shown in the letter and apply for a student visa; the consulate decides.
  5. On arrival. Sit the English placement test if required, register, obtain denklik and apply for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.

How to compare universities for Software Engineering

  • Accreditation. Check whether the exact programme appears as accredited by MÜDEK, Turkey's engineering accreditation association; accreditation is granted programme by programme, not to a whole university.
  • Teaching language in practice. An English-taught track should teach all core courses in English; a Turkish track expects you to read documentation in English anyway.
  • Internship rules. Compare how many internship days are required, who approves the company and whether remote or foreign placements count.
  • Industry contact. Look for company-sponsored capstones, technology-park offices on or near campus and active student clubs rather than logo walls.
  • Campus and commute. Gedik teaches Software Engineering at its Kartal campus on the Asian side; check the faculty address before choosing housing.
  • Total cost. Add a possible preparatory year, housing and transport to the tuition shown below.

Rankings rarely separate private Turkish universities in a meaningful way for this degree. Course depth, the language you can actually study in and the internship network are better predictors of what you will be able to do after four years.

Where to study

Universities and published tuition

The table shows published base tuition for bachelor's tracks titled Software Engineering, as each university lists it.

Software Engineering at Gedik UniversitySoftware Engineering at Isik University
Software Engineering - universities and published tuition
UniversityProgramme as listedDegreeLanguagePublished tuitionFee year and basis
Gelisim UniversitySoftware Engineering (Turkish)BachelorTurkish$4,000/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Halic UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$4,700/yrYear not stated · per year
Gedik UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorTurkish$5,000/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Biruni UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorTurkish$5,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Okan UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$5,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Gelisim UniversitySoftware Engineering (English)BachelorEnglish$5,500/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Uskudar UniversitySoftware Engineering (English)BachelorEnglish$5,600/yr2026/27 · per year
Altinbas UniversitySoftware Engineering (in English)BachelorEnglish$6,000/yr2025/26 list, latest published · per year
Atlas UniversitySoftware Engineering (English)BachelorEnglish$6,300/yr2026/27 · per year
Nisantasi UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$7,395/yrYear not stated · list fee per year
Istinye UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$8,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Istinye UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorTurkish$8,000/yr2026/27 · per year
Bahcesehir UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$9,000/yr2026/27 · per year
TED UniversitySoftware EngineeringBachelorEnglish$11,800/yrYear not stated · per year, VAT included

Sources: İstanbul Gelişim University, Haliç University, İstanbul Gedik University, Biruni University, İstanbul Okan University, Üsküdar University, Altınbaş University, İstanbul Atlas University, Nişantaşı University, İstinye University, Bahçeşehir University, TED University. Where a university gives a list fee and a lower early-payment or scholarship price, the table keeps the list fee; Nişantaşı's portal, for example, shows a reduced figure next to the list fee. Işık University also teaches Software Engineering in English, but it releases 2026/27 undergraduate fees to international applicants on request.

Budget separately for a preparatory year if you need one, private dormitory or shared-flat rent, health insurance, the residence permit and a laptop able to run development tools. The written offer from the university confirms the fee, payment dates and any award.

Careers, internships and recognition

Graduates work as backend, frontend or mobile developers, QA and test automation engineers, DevOps and cloud engineers, data engineers and, after experience, software architects or engineering managers. Istanbul's employers include banks, e-commerce platforms, game studios, telecom operators and a large start-up scene clustered in technology parks.

Software development is not a licensed profession in Turkey, so employers judge you on skills, portfolio and interviews. For work in Turkey after graduation you need a work permit, which your employer applies for; if you plan to return home or move on to the EU, check how your country recognises a Turkish engineering bachelor's degree and whether MÜDEK accreditation helps in that process.

Build evidence during the degree: a GitHub history with tests and documentation, one or two internships, and a capstone you can explain in detail. These carry more weight than the university name when you apply for a first job.

Who this programme suits

A strong fit if you…

  • you enjoy logical problem-solving and can stay with a bug until it is fixed;
  • your school maths is solid and you are ready for proofs and algorithms in year one;
  • you want team projects, internships and a portfolio, not only lectures;
  • you are comfortable studying and reading technical material in English.

Think twice if…

  • you mainly want hardware, electronics or robotics, where Computer or Mechatronics Engineering fits better;
  • you expect to learn one popular framework and stop there;
  • your budget cannot absorb a preparatory year if your language score falls short.

Plan your Software Engineering application

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. Admission decisions are made by the university, and the residence permit is decided by the Turkish migration authority.

Frequently asked questions

Yes. Several private universities teach it fully in English, including Okan, Üsküdar, Atlas, Altınbaş, İstinye, Bahçeşehir, Haliç and TED University. Others, such as Gedik and Biruni, teach it in Turkish, so confirm the language of the exact track before applying.

The published fees compared on this page run from $4,000 a year (Gelişim, Turkish track, latest list for 2025/26) to $11,800 a year (TED University, year not stated); the lowest 2026/27-labelled fees are $5,000 at Biruni and Okan. Most 2026/27 English-taught tracks at Istanbul private universities fall between about $5,000 and $9,000 a year before housing and living costs.

Not usually for private universities, which publish grade-based entry routes; İstinye, for instance, requires at least 50% on the school diploma for non-medical programmes. SAT can replace the grade route at some universities, and state universities more often rank applicants by TR-YÖS or SAT results.

It depends on the university. İstinye accepts TOEFL iBT 75, IELTS Academic 6.0 or PTE Academic 55 for exemption, while Haliç lists TOEFL iBT 75, IELTS 6.5 or PTE 58. Without a valid score you sit the university's own test and may join a one-year English preparatory programme.

No. Both teach programming and algorithms, but Computer Engineering adds electronics, digital logic and hardware, while Software Engineering spends more time on requirements, architecture, testing and team processes. Choose by the modules and projects you want, since employers hire graduates of both into developer roles.

Under an agreement with StudyU, we compare suitable programmes, check your documents against each university's rules, prepare the application and follow up on the agreed steps. The university decides on admission and any scholarship, and the residence permit is issued by the Turkish migration authority.

Official sources

All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. Programme availability and teaching language come from YÖK Atlas and each university's catalogue; tuition links sit under the table above.

Updated: