Visual Communication Design in Turkey: the short answer
Visual Communication Design (Görsel İletişim Tasarımı) is a four-year design degree in branding, typography, illustration, motion graphics and digital interfaces. Most programmes in Istanbul are Turkish-taught and cost $4,200 to $7,000 a year for 2026/27; English-taught options at Bahçeşehir ($8,500) and Bilgi ($12,000) cost more, and TED University in Ankara lists $11,800 without a year label. Master's and PhD programmes are also available.
The degree sits between graphic design and communication studies. You learn to design for print, screen and space, and to explain your design decisions to clients and audiences. Studio work, critiques and a growing portfolio replace most written exams.
Because tools and visual language are international, VCD is one of the fields where a portfolio from Turkey travels well. The teaching language still matters for critiques, client briefs and internships, so choose it carefully.
What you study, year by year
- Basic design and colour theory
- Drawing and visual perception
- Introduction to typography
- History of art and design
- Typography and layout
- Illustration
- Photography and digital imaging
- Graphic design studio: posters, editorial
- Corporate identity and branding
- Motion graphics and animation
- User-interface and interaction design
- Internship in an agency or studio
- Advertising and campaign design
- Packaging, information and environmental graphics
- Portfolio development
- Graduation project and exhibition
Look at the software and equipment you will use (Adobe tools, 3D and motion software, printmaking and photo studios), and at recent graduation projects. They show the level students actually reach.
Entry requirements for international applicants
- a completed secondary-school certificate and transcript meeting each university's minimum grade;
- for Turkish-taught programmes, Turkish at the required level (Haliç asks for TÖMER C1, Okan a TÖMER B2 certificate issued within two years) or a Turkish preparatory period;
- for English-taught programmes at Bahçeşehir, Bilgi and TED University, English evidence accepted by the university or its English preparatory programme;
- a passport, translated documents and, after admission, the equivalence certificate (denklik) for your school diploma;
- a portfolio or aptitude test at some universities; others admit on documents, so ask each one.
Even where no portfolio is required, prepare 10 to 15 pieces of work (drawings, photos, digital layouts). It helps in scholarship discussions and gives you a head start in the first studio.
Application steps and timing
- A year before. Build drawing habits and learn a design tool; decide between Turkish-taught and English-taught study.
- Six to nine months before. Take the language test, gather documents and assemble a small portfolio.
- Application. Apply online and complete any portfolio review or aptitude test; the university decides admission.
- After acceptance. Pay the deposit shown in the letter and apply for a student visa; the consulate decides.
- On arrival. Register, obtain denklik and apply for the residence permit, which the migration authority decides.
How to compare VCD programmes
- Portfolio outcomes. Graduation exhibitions and student awards show the real level.
- Studio size and critique. Small studio groups mean more feedback.
- Digital focus. UI/UX, motion and 3D courses increase your options beyond print.
- Industry links. Internships with agencies, in-house brand teams and studios in Istanbul.
- Real price. Several universities quote lower prices for advance payment; compare what you would actually pay over four years.
A common mistake is to pay for an English-taught programme mainly for the language when the portfolio, not the language of the diploma, decides design jobs. If your Turkish is good, compare both routes on course content and cost.
Universities and published tuition
Bachelor's, master's and PhD programmes in Visual Communication Design, with the fee year and basis each university gives.


| University | Programme as listed | Degree | Language | Published tuition | Fee year and basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Uskudar University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,200/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Okan University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year with instalments ($4,275 in advance) |
| Medipol University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year ($4,050 in advance) |
| Atlas University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,660/yr | 2026/27 · per year ($3,565 in advance) |
| Halic University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/yr | Year not stated · per year |
| Altinbas University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr | 2025/26 list, latest published · per year |
| Gedik University | Visual Communication Design (Kartal campus) | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000/yr | 2025/26 list · per year |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Not stated in fee list | $5,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Istinye University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | Turkish | $7,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| Bahcesehir University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | English | $8,500/yr | 2026/27 · per year |
| TED University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | English | $11,800/yr | Year not stated · per year, VAT included |
| Bilgi University | Visual Communication Design | Bachelor | English | $12,000/yr | 2026/27 · per year, VAT included |
| Isik University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,500 | 2025/26 spring-semester list · whole programme |
| Gelisim University | Visual Communication Design (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $3,750 | 2025/26 list, latest published · whole programme |
| Isik University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) (with thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,000 | 2025/26 spring-semester list · whole programme |
| Uskudar University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) (non-thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,400 | 2026/27 · full programme |
| Gelisim University | Visual Communication Design (thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,500 | 2025/26 list, latest published · whole programme |
| Uskudar University | Visual Communication Design (Turkish) (thesis) | Master | Turkish | $4,800 | 2026/27 · full programme |
| Uskudar University | Ph.D. in Visual Communication Design (Turkish) | PhD | Turkish | $7,800 | 2026/27 · full programme |
Sources: Üsküdar University, İstanbul Okan University, İstanbul Medipol University, İstanbul Atlas University, Haliç University, Altınbaş University, İstanbul Gedik University, İstanbul Yeni Yüzyıl University, İstinye University, Bahçeşehir University, Bahçeşehir University (programme page), TED University, İstanbul Bilgi University, Işık University, İstanbul Gelişim University (graduate fees). Işık University teaches Visual Communication Design in Turkish at bachelor's level but releases its 2026/27 undergraduate fees to international applicants on request.
Add a laptop able to run design software, software licences, printing and materials, housing, insurance and the residence permit.
Careers in visual communication
Graduates work as graphic and brand designers, art directors in advertising agencies, UI/UX and product designers, motion designers, illustrators, packaging and publication designers, and in-house designers for companies and media. Many combine employment with freelance work for international clients.
Design is hired on portfolio. Enter competitions, keep a clean online portfolio and collect internship references during the degree. To work for a Turkish employer after graduation you need a work permit, applied for by the employer.
Who this programme suits
A strong fit if you…
- you draw, photograph or design in your free time;
- you enjoy solving communication problems visually;
- you can take critique and rework designs many times;
- you want a portfolio-based career with international reach.
Think twice if…
- you want fine art without client briefs, where Visual Arts programmes fit better;
- you dislike working at a computer for long hours;
- you expect the diploma alone, without a portfolio, to secure a job.
Plan your Visual Communication Design application
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step. A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The university decides admission and any portfolio assessment, the consulate decides the visa, and the migration authority decides the residence permit.
Frequently asked questions
Yes. Bahçeşehir ($8,500 a year) and İstanbul Bilgi ($12,000 a year) list English-taught programmes for 2026/27, and TED University in Ankara lists $11,800 a year without a year label. Most other programmes are Turkish-taught.
For 2026/27, Turkish-taught bachelor's fees on this page run from $4,200 a year at Üsküdar to $7,000 at İstinye, and English-taught ones from $8,500 to $12,000. Several universities offer lower prices for payment in advance.
Some universities ask for a portfolio or aptitude test, others admit on school documents and language. Preparing a small portfolio is useful either way.
Graphic Design focuses on print and visual identity. Visual Communication Design usually adds motion, interactive and communication-strategy courses, although curricula overlap.
Yes. Üsküdar lists thesis ($4,800) and non-thesis ($4,400) master's programmes and a PhD ($7,800) for 2026/27, all for the full programme and taught in Turkish.
Under an agreement with StudyU, we compare programmes by language, portfolio requirements and total cost, check documents and prepare applications. The university decides admission.
Official sources
- YÖK Atlas: official program catalogue — program availability, institution and stated language of instruction. International quotas and tuition require the university's own current source.
- YÖK: official international-student information — the official university search route and general international-student guidance. The chosen university still owns its admission requirements.
- ÖSYM: official TR-YÖS exam (2026) — the official calendar and application route for TR-YÖS/1 in 2026. Each university publishes whether the result is required for the selected program.
All tuition figures on this page are published by the universities in US dollars, so no currency conversion was applied. YÖK Atlas lists VCD programmes with their language of instruction; fee sources are linked under the table.
Updated: